When I started blogging

it was at the behest of the book company, to get an online profile going and all that. There was a nice American man leading the group which was aimed at hauling authors into the modern world. So one of them, the oldest, cynicalest, beardy, and most sceptical (not me on this occasion) says, What are we supposed to write about on these blogermathingys? And the nice American says, ‘O you know, what you did today, anything that caught your attention and whatever, you know, just a little hello from you to the world.’

My Evening, by S Foster:

Watched:

Coronation Street 1
University Challenge
Coronation Street 2
School of Saatchi
East Enders (on watch again – have only just got hooked on this soap. Don’t understand most of it, which is rather good, makes it more mysterious. Main thing seems to be: whoever you think your dad is, it isn’t.)
Graham Norton Show

Thank God I don’t normally tell the truth of ‘what I did with my day.’ Might as well turn the lights off on my ‘online personality’ now.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to When I started blogging

  1. chiffs says:

    What I did with my day:
    Had a pain and slept a lot.
    Watched all of the above + Miranda.
    Went to bed.

    We can’t all be Ranulph Fiennes.

  2. OS says:

    Swine! (Not you, ChiffS. XXX) You txtd me a few times. I’m not important now then. Not even a mention and I come well below:
    Coronation Street 1
    University Challenge
    Coronation Street 2
    School of Saatchi
    East Enders

    You get to know who your real friends are. 😦

    GGOS. (no kisses)

  3. johnnyneptune says:

    no updating of your norwegian leather industry chart?

    that saad needs a damn good shoeing. and your gamine favourite is rubbish, she’ll get found out soon.

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    My gamine handles a roll up rather efficiently though. I think Charles will appreciate the simplicity of the concept.

  5. makemeadiva says:

    We should, by rights, all be hibernating by now. I will be blogging from a cardboard box filled with newspaper and some holes in the lid until March.

  6. Patty says:

    So true. I found an animal den in our woods and thought how lucky female bears are. They get to stuff themselves blind just before hibernating, and then give birth in their den while sleeping. Can’t beat that! We have six inches of snow on the ground and a winter storm coming in tomorrow. The cardboard box sounds very intriguing at this point. And besides, I have a nasty cough and fever. I sound like a cat hacking up a furball. **hack, hack*** I need lots of sympathy and cheering up. Should I look for that elsewhere? ………:(

  7. Patty says:

    Meant to say my day was much like chiff’s….at least the sleeping part.

  8. mum says:

    My days – up to now – Sunday – fruit juice and tea in bed shower -breakfast ( cooked ) watching ” MOTD ” walk to beach Lunch approx 14.00 then sunbathe untill 16.15 then eastenders omnibus ( best way to watch it ) !!!
    Monday- Fruit breakfast walk or gym approx 1 hour lunch sunbathe two hours read oatcake 300 plus on Beatie & Pulis ( out ) Snack two X-Files two Coronation Streets .
    Today – Fruit juice and tea in bed ,breakfast ( fruit ) game of crib gym 1 hour lunch 13.30 sunbathe till now !!! Wed Thu & Fri similar !!! Sat relaxing and footie !! Love to all xxxx

  9. Stephen Foster says:

    It’s a hard knock life.

    Get back on the Oatie, it’s going ballistic now – Beattie has involved his solicitor and wants out (according to BBC latest.)

    I could write a book : )

  10. makemeadiva says:

    or maybe your mum will let me move in there ‘cos it sounds better than the box thing!

    Wishing Chiffs & Patty better.

  11. Stephen Foster says:

    This site gives out soothing strokes and sympathy, only sometimes it can look like tough love because of the Stiff Upper lip.

  12. Rhodesy says:

    You’re lucky Dad doesn’t read this site I feel you would be ripped to pieces. He likes to keep up the pretence of not liking any shows which are aimed at females like Eastenders. He loves them really.

    In my opinion Beattie should just leave. Pulis did the right thing and it will keep good discipline in the squad. If Pulis says jump Beattie should ask how high. The money he’s on is astronomical and he should not have questioned Pulis. Time to go Beattie. You can take your following of junior squad members aswell. Most unpleased with Beattie. Pulis apparently nutted Beattie while naked aswell. Brilliant you could’ner make it up could you!?

    I need to read “From Working Class Hero to a Middle Class Disgrace,” you watch University Challenge! What went wrong there? And the Graham Norton show. I think Dad would be embarrassed for you 😉

  13. chiffs says:

    Bears in the woods! Fantastic, and also, scary. All we have in our local woods are young boys emptying the dog-turd bin and throwing the bags at passers-by (True. They were unhinged, and also, scary).
    Feeling better thank you, Makemeadiva, but having been upright for a full ten hours I must get back to sleep, preferably with the dog on the bed : )

  14. OS says:

    ” If Pulis says jump Beattie should ask how high. The money he’s on is astronomical and he should not have questioned Pulis.”

    You’re more of a rimmer than your dad will ever be, Rhodesy. How long is your tongue? 😉 It’s because Beattie has more money than Pulis that he dares face up to the tyrant. Money means freedom of expression and not toadying the party line. Pulis is a scheming bully: always has been and always will be. I would have told him to ‘lick ’em and stick ’em’ a long time ago if I ever had the misfortune to work for him.

    Hello ‘Mum’. Enjoy your fruit juice and tea in bed shower. 😉 XXX

    Get well soon, ChiffS and Patty. XXX

  15. Stephen Foster says:

    Your dad says ‘Spartacus’ is his all time fav film but actually I know for a fact it’s ‘Bambi.’

    I can’t quite understand why the whole squad didn’t pile in behind Beattie while they had the golden chance ; ) All that dosh must of* turned them into morons.

  16. Daftburger says:

    Now this may surprise you but I’m going to side with young Rhodesy. Call me old fashioned but the boss needs to be the only authority figure in the fressing room. Anyone who questions it is onto a loser.

    OS the fact he has more money than Pulis makes him the type of footballer to dispise and is just another whinging rich little mardarse.

    Remember he’s been in the Premiership longer than us and is more immersed in it’s ‘culture’. Beattie Out!

    Alternatively being the cheeky chappie he is BT may have jokingly suggested an extra day off and the evil Mr Pulis went ballistic. Pulis Out!

    You’re never alone with schizophrenia! 🙂

  17. mum says:

    Sorry OS missed out a , lol it must be the cheap Rioja ( Euro 1.75 ) 🙂 🙂

  18. Rhodesy says:

    He has a truly awful taste in films it must be said.

  19. OS says:

    Hiya Daftbugger. Perhaps I should have put it better. I, too, have little time for the Big Time Charlies of this world and seeing the back of another won’t bother me one iota. The point of me disgreeing with young Rhodesy is that I don’t think a manager has to be a tyrant to get his point across and to rule the dressing room. I apportion blame to both of them, but I tend to side a little with Pulis simply because of THAT picture of Beattie driving away from the ground with a bunch of hangers on and there was no doubt that he thought this farce was all a bit of fun. I have absolutely no doubt that Pulis was/is not thinking that way. So it’s Pulis a winner on points for me. 😉

    My comment about telling him to ‘lick ’em and stick ’em’ was made on the basis that I am a rough arsed sod who don’t take no s**t from nobody, rather than an overpaid nancy boy. Had I been an overpaid nancy boy, I would still have told him where to go simply because I don’t like the bloke.

    Have a good day. 🙂

    Pulis out!

  20. Stephen Foster says:

    Does he like the American Pie movies?

  21. Rhodesy says:

    “Simply because I don’t like the bloke.” Quite possibly the understatement of the year 😀

Comments are closed.