Don’t mess

Having watched the Masters tennis from the O2 on Sky all last week I have plans in the near future to write a ‘test tennis’ piece about the astonishing standard in the mens game right now, and about the absurdity, particularly in the BBC, that surrounds Andrew Murray when Wimbledon comes around – he is just one of many very good players on the tour, but he is about to fall between two waves of greats, I think (how can I write about that happy prospect in a way that seems fair and unbeastly?). I also want to do something intelligent and unsentimental on National Hunt racing. Denman’s Hennessy Gold Cup at the weekend was an extraordinary accomplishment (too many superlatives already, ed). But I can only concentrate on one thing at a time and am busy trying to put together a book proposal so here is a picture of the legendary Milla. He is a softy, really. (Those who have read Walking Ollie will know of him, for others a previous post here says something about his ways.)

This entry was posted in Along Came Dylan, Fetching Dylan, Walking Ollie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Don’t mess

  1. makemeadiva says:

    http://www.racingpost.com/blog/sport/steve-palmer/opportunities-consistently-clouded-by-fog-of-alcohol/658718/

    Check out the 24th Nov entry (although I enjoyed the whole thing). If your PHWS membership is expired you could sign up to the “TTT” fraternity 😉

    Love the Milla shot.

  2. chiffs says:

    I heart Milla

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    Hehe – I love that Steve Palmer column, though I somehow missed that one (Stoke were playing on the Sunday…) He speaks to the supressed looney gambler in all of us professional punters ; )

    (Had a not wholly unprofitable afternoon with Philip of Philip & Diddley up at Fakenham this afternoon btw. ‘C’mon the Queen’s horse!’. This is what he was shouting at the last. Her Maj’s nag duly obliged, leading him to courtsey. [This is how book proposals get squeezed : )] )

  4. Geraldine says:

    I read somewhere over the weekend that the State of Victoria in Australia is going to ban what they call jump racing, due to the high mortality rate – I think the figure was 12 horses last season.

  5. OS says:

    Miller is luvverly and should not be in the same blogspot as Murray. Sort it, Boy!

    BTW, I hope you and Philip had a few bob on Denman. I couldn’t hold back a knowing grin when I watched the news and saw him romping home. 😉

    GGOS.

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    A small investment a piece.

    What don’t u like about Murray?

  7. OS says:

    “What don’t u like about Murray?”

    He dislikes the English very much and isn’t backwards at coming forwards to say so. He’s entitled to his opinion, and so am I.

    GGOS.

  8. Mark Elt says:

    MHW

    mx

  9. Jan says:

    Milla looks like a giant Ollie! 🙂 ( my Ollie, I meant!)

Comments are closed.