But is it art?

I feel so bleedin virtuous after a run up in the dunes with Dylan that a bowl of oatmeal porridge has become my new favorite second breakfast. That is syrup floating off the top and eddying to the perimeter by the way, and for a table I’m using a record deck. I’m quite posh like that.

Anyone who watched my new favourite programme, School of Saatchi, last night will be wondering whether I shouldn’t lift the lid, switch on the turntable, make a time-lapse video of it as it s-l-o-w-l-y disappears, mouthful-by-mouthful, and give it a title.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to But is it art?

  1. johnnyneptune says:

    that’s bananas is that, not syrup

    missed the saatchi thing. thought about it but suspected it’d end up annoying me like the philippe fellop, um, starck thing did.

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    It would only annoy you in the best possible way.

    And then there’s Mad Tracey from Margate who is moving at pace to National Treasure status, and then there’s a gamine with a whistle called Euginee…

    it’s on watch again : )

  3. Geraldine says:

    I’ve missed your blog for the last few weeks, so I’ve had some catching up to do! The Franz Marc paintings are lovely, I went to a gallery in Munich some years ago where there is a very large collection of his paintings, including a quite fierce-looking tiger. His colours are so vibrant.

    As for the porridge, we are great fans of that in this house, my husband makes the best, so I’m quite spoiled!

  4. Patty says:

    Mmmmmm, looks good! We eat it here with brown sugar sprinkled on top and crumbled walnuts on top. Also great with blueberries.

  5. calvininjax says:

    I take it you use Scott’s Porage Oats?

    I have to make do with Quaker Oats, served with cold milk, fresh raspberries and blueberries.

    My last porridge was on Press Day at the Scottish Motor Show in Glasgow, circa 1980, and ’twas the best I have ever tasted. The fact it was served by a Tennents calendar model and laced with single malt whiskey could have had something to do with it.

    Happy days.

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    Tennents Calendar model?

    I’m getting Nora Batty.

    Hello Patty! * waves *

  7. johnnyneptune says:

    i watched it tonight. ‘i’m a budding YBA, please let me suckle at the teat of charles saatchi’, not your porridge.

    was alright. the ghost huts was rubbish, but only because those two clowns are the most hateful.

  8. Patty says:

    ***waving back, Stephen*** Been fighting with a blasted chest cold. Bronchitis! Tomorrow I’m sure I’ll feel better. 🙂 Carry on!

Comments are closed.