Hurrah, the jumps season is upon us

Nice explicatory piece here from yesterday’s Guardian about why jumps is better than flat. Dylan does not give a fig as he goes in for both codes as well as point-to-point squirreling.

IMG_3503

This entry was posted in Along Came Dylan, Walking Ollie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hurrah, the jumps season is upon us

  1. Jan says:

    I love it!! Cant wait to see Kauto Star Denman and Master Minded again. 🙂 havent got got to wait long for Master Minded!

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    D’you fancy 8/13 tomorrow? Or has Well Chief got a hope at half a stone lighter?

  3. chiffs says:

    I think he’s doing dressage there.

  4. Jan says:

    I am not very good at the old betting!! But I hope Master Minded wins and Well Chief comes a close second. They are both brilliant horses. ( I am ruled by my heart with racehorses I’m afraid and often lose money because of it!!)

  5. Jan says:

    Is Dylan doing a collected canter?!! 🙂

    I agree with that piece in the Guardian, especially the bit about familar horses. Some flat horses run once and you never hear of them again and some decent ones only run for one season and then they are off to stud, so it is very difficult to find a horse to follow for long. Only the likes of Persian Punch and Double Trigger seem to go on for season after season.
    I much prefer the Jumps. The only downside is if a horse is fatally injured. Then I dont like it so much.
    One Man was one of my favourites and I was devastated when he had to be put down.

  6. makemeadiva says:

    I would respond to the Guardian blog thus:

    I think it is heartbreaking to see a tired horse caught on the run in up that hill…

    I agree with Federico Tesio’s assertion in “Breeding the Racehorse” that horses do not jump naturally – they can jump but it needs to be under some form of compulsion and the ability (or otherwise) is not a genetic trait.

    I think running fastest, which the blog refers to, is a purer test of a horse’s natural ability and inclination than that of asking horses to jump obstacles, endure distances and come up hills when they are knackered.

    It is more “exciting” when fences are introduced, along with the risk. A fall runs the risk of death and serious injury for horse and rider and I can’t enjoy the spectacle as much with that at the forefront of my mind. The popularity of jump racing (despite the ban on hunting and general persecution of country pursuits) mystifies me on the one hand, yet on the other is perfectly understandable in this sanitised but brutal society we live in.

    I have been to Cheltenham. Our runner that day dumped Daryl Jacob out in the country (in the days before The Listener) and they took an age to come back. Come back they did, Saucy Night was none the worse and Daryl was muddied but not bowed, but it was a darn long wait!

    I don’t begrudge others their sport though and I do join in sometimes (from behind the sofa) 🙂

  7. Jan says:

    I must admit I do have a love/hate relationship with the sport. I too watch things like the Grand National with my hands over my eyes most of the time, and whenever I see a horse severely injured I swear I am never gonna watch a race again…but I always go back to it. Dont ask me why!
    I was watching horse racing from a young age. I remember watching it back in the 60s when I was very young when we used to visit my Aunts and Uncles who were great fans of Arkle and I can vaguely recall watching in awe as he won his races in spectacular fashion.
    The sport is like a drug! I just adore thehorses, and not always the good ones, either! One flat horse I used to follow ran for about five seasons and only ever won one race!!I liked him because I fell in love with him when I stroked his nose at Lambourn Open Day!
    We go to Kempton, Ascot and our local course is Windsor, which sadly doesnt host the Jumps anymore so we tend not to go there.

    Sad to see Master Minded getting beaten, but it was nice seeing Well Chief winning after such a long time. 🙂
    I bet Master Minded will win next time out though. 🙂

  8. makemeadiva says:

    Pleased to “meet” you Jan, a fellow “junkie” 🙂

    I was looking at this last night and it highlighted that the Guardian did not acknowledge the existence of the racecourse until 1963. It also appears to suggest that the flat code is very much linked to yobs’n’snobs – very much the former in my case…

    http://www.lincolnthinks.co.uk/Articles/sport/s_8.htm

    I forgot to say that Dylan is executing a perfect Spanish Trot IMO!

  9. Stephen Foster says:

    Collected Canter. The horse remaining on the bit moves forward with his neck raised and arched. The collected canter is marked by the lightness of the forehand and the engagement of the hindquarters: i.e., is characterised by supple, free and mobile shoulders and very active quarters. The horse’s strides are shorter than at the other canters but he is lighter and more mobile.

    http://en.wikisource.org/wiki/Equitation/Chapter_27

    he might be doing a ‘Collected Spanish’ : )

    Jan, you should meet diva on her own terrific blog: ‘On wishes and horses’ which is linked on the blogroll on my side bar…

  10. Jan says:

    I thought it looked most like a collected canter! 🙂
    It is so good to meet people that actually love racing. I sometimes put things on my myspace site about the sport and am met with a complete blan k!
    I did have a look at the ‘ On wishes and horses’ blog the other day but didnt have much time. I will go back and have another look. 🙂

    I have been putting some recent photos of my Ollie and Carey on my Myspace, and there are also a few racehorse pictures that I have taken on there as well if anyone wants to have a look. 🙂

    Due to my experiences as a youngster in front of the telly watching Arkle, I have a stash of photos at home,taken over the years at various racecourses ,of lots of the wonderful equine heroes.

  11. makemeadiva says:

    I have looked at Dylan again. His tail is a perfect ? shape.

    A talented dog to be sure.

Comments are closed.