Ed Ruscha

I received a text from Johnny Neptune this afternoon (I was ironing a shirt at the time). He asked was it me who liked this Ed Ruscha, as he had just passed by a poster at the Hayward Gallery with a picture of a petrol station and some straight lines. Though it was not me who liked him (I confess I had never heard of him) it certainly sounded my kind of thing. Here is one of the first images I found on a search. Gothic, modernist, atmospheric and brilliant it’s narrative meeting abstraction (this last bit of text may have crossed my vision somewhere on the Hayward site). The media is a silver gelatin photo print I believe, called Gas Stations. To me it says Gerhard Richter meets Edward Hopper, which will certainly do for starters. I think I’ll be going to have a look at the exhibition, not least because one of the pictures in the image preview on the Hayward Gallery website is of a plain industrial building with the words ‘Fat Boy’ written on it. Postcards of that would clearly be easy to press into use.

artwork_images_1056_217404_ed-ruscha

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ed Ruscha

  1. johnnyneptune says:

    this is what was on the posters

    http://file-magazine.com/wp-content/uploads/standardstation.jpg

    glad you like :)

  2. OS says:

    I don’t understand all the gobbldygook you chaps use about this sort of stuff but both the picture above and the one Johnny linked to, flick my switches. Superb.

    GGOS.

Comments are closed.