The old supermodel

Since it’s nearly a year since he went, and since there are one or two fans of these pictures about, here’s another from the archives.

IMG_1750

This entry was posted in Along Came Dylan, Walking Ollie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The old supermodel

  1. Geraldine says:

    That’s lovely!

    Ollie’s tree has settled in well and looks healthy; next year it should start to grow a bit.

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    Thanks Geraldine, am still harbouring plans to see that tree for real, though the recession might mean it’s the season after next for us at Punchestown, unless Cheltenham turns into a goldmine…

    Have learned today that we couldn’t get tickets for a planned trip to Stade de France for the Republic’s play-off final, so at least that’ll save us some Euros…

  3. chiffs says:

    How I miss the Ollie smile, and how, too, I’d like to see his tree. Thank you again, Geraldine.
    xx

  4. calvininjax says:

    Supermodel is exactly right.

    A noble beast in every sense.

  5. Rhodesy says:

    Man’s best friend indeed!

  6. Geraldine says:

    Any time, Chiffs, we’ll have the kettle on.

  7. Patty says:

    The face of a sweet angel. I wish I’d met him. He lives in my heart though. When I can’t sleep, I have “Walking Ollie” on the headboard of my bed. I begin reading it and the book soothes me to the point I can relax and fall asleep. You have no idea how the story of dear Ollie has, and is, helping me. Bless all the dear dogs.

  8. Stephen Foster says:

    Thanks Patty, I hope you’re alright too.

    all best wishes, Stephen

  9. chiffs says:

    Thanks Geraldine. I’ll bring the Hobnobs!

  10. makemeadiva says:

    Ah for an errant ear.

  11. Rhodesy says:

    My Gran has finished reading walking ollie winger she’s after along came dylan now 😀

  12. Stephen Foster says:

    Indeed.

  13. Stephen Foster says:

    Have you got a copy of that Rhodesy?

  14. sam says:

    He was so beautiful.. I only saw him twice and both times stayed with me.. both before I knew anything of “Ollie and Dylan” Id just got Lex the first time and was drawn towards them in the way that you are when you have lurchers. Someone had suggested Lex had Saluki in her and yours were the first two we had met.. but Ollie was something else 😀

    The second I was just getting back from the campus with Lex and you passed us in the car.. again it was the dogs I noticed.. barking furiously at us from the back, made me smile

    You must miss him terribly

  15. Stephen Foster says:

    We do miss him, but we have lots of great memories, and pictures, and he even got himself a book …

    Now, I’ve been spying in on lurcherlnk – it looks as if it’s not going too badly with Lemon/Fendi? Might he have finally found his home?

  16. sam says:

    I really hope so. I do keep thinking honeymoon period.. its too good to be true. But he really seems to have brought something to my girls. Placing a third dog wasnt going to be easy with my two as you know but hes a great gelling agent between them. Hes a flirt and a comic and Lexys strops seem to go unnoticed (or he knows like any bloke should when to keep quiet and say nothing) hes currently lying on my bed with Lexy.. so she must think hes ok 😉

    and his house manners put the girls to shame, hes obviously has had a good upbringing 😀

  17. Stephen Foster says:

    Ooh that does sound good; fingers crossed. He’s all the things you’ve said and he’s a definite charmer, too: he’s like the Artful Dodger & I reckon that’s how he’s survived so far. (His house manners came with him actually – I think we’ve got Sue and Keith to thank for that.)
    I still miss him, but Dylan has returned to a better version of himself than he’s been since Ollie went – I think he’s an animal that just wants to be on his own now…

    Good luck to all \o/

  18. sean evans says:

    i havent read that book but he seems/seemed like a wonderful dog.
    r.i.p ollie

  19. Jan says:

    Hello there! I have only just found you blog and I hadnt realised that Ollie isnt around anymore. 😦 I have been reading all your books but ‘walking Ollie’ s my favourite, me being a huge dog lover. We have a Doberman/Whippet muttley called Ollie, who is just coming up to two years old and he has many similar traits to your Ollie! He is our third dog and we love him to bits.
    I do hope you change your mind about writing another dog book. 🙂

  20. Stephen Foster says:

    Hi Jan and thanks for those kind words. Welcome to the blog!

    I haven’t entirely ruled it out (see comments on today’s entry for emerging ‘Hmmm’.)

    There was a post detailing what happened to Ollie: see here:

    https://walkingollie.wordpress.com/2008/11/24/leaving-ollie/

  21. Jan says:

    Thank you so much for the reply. I read ‘Leaving Ollie’ last night after I wrote that post. It is so sad that he had to die so young. 😦 We lost our German Shepherd cross, Dudley in September 2008 so I know what it is like. He had Addisons Disease and then we found out that he had a tumour on his liver and we eventually lost him eight months later. He was 10 though and he had a very good life travelling all over the country with us.
    We still had our old lurcher, Carey, who was 13 at the time and she went downhill after she lost her best friend so we ended up going to a rescue center and picking up Ollie and for a w hile we thought we had made a huge mistake as he was a bit of a handful to say the least, but we are glad we persevered because he is such a lovely dog. He can still b e a bit scary out on walks though!!
    I hope your lovely Dylan coped ok after your loss.
    I will go back and read some more of your posts now. 🙂

  22. Jan says:

    I forgot to mention that Carey has got a new lease of life since we aquired Ollie. She is 14 going on 15 now but you wouldnt know it! 🙂
    I see you tried a companion for Dylan but it didnt work out. I am sorry. Sometimes they are happier on their own arent they? It took a while for Carey to accept Ollie. I have to say she was disgusted with him when she realised we were bringing him home for good but now she knows him and his funny ways she is happy. She is still the boss and he knows it!

  23. Stephen Foster says:

    Yes, that was the problem between Dylan & Lemon: Dylan was never able to assert his authority, If he had, we’d have been fine I think. Lemon had many extraordinary ways and could get under a car after a cat in 0.001 sec but we would defimitely have kept him if it weren’t for the relationship between the two of them. The good news is he’s getting on fine in his hew home where two feisty greyhound bitches are letting him know who’s boss :–)

  24. Jan says:

    Well I am glad Lemon is happy!! I bet he loves living with two girlfriends!! He is a gorgeous looking dog!
    Am also glad that Dylan is happy too. 🙂

Comments are closed.