On Being Kazimir Malevich

am currently reading a very good, very short, book, On Being John McEnroe, by Tim Adams. Mac is one of my all-time sporting heroes. One thing I admire about the ‘Superbrat,’ (a term coined by the Daily Express, I learn from this book), beyond his tennis and his temper, is that he established a downtown art gallery in Manhattan, post-tennis. That’s rather more interesting than opening a sports shop in Monaco, isn’t it. There’s something about the angry red geometry of this that says, ‘JP McEnroe blows his top,’ to me.

malevich_suprematism_eight_rectangles

Suprematism with Eight Red Rectangles, 1915
Oil on canvas, 57.5 x 48.5 cm
Amsterdam Stedelijk Museum, Holland

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On Being Kazimir Malevich

  1. OS. says:

    I’m on the same wavelength, winger. I can see it too. That worries me. 😉

    GGOS.

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    I’ve bought you on OS 🙂

    & in even better news: We can see the original when we go to Amsterdam.

  3. chiffs says:

    You cannot be serious!!!!!!!!!!

    (sorry)

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    ‘You’re the pits of the world!!!”

    [What did I say? Tell me what I said. Tell me what I said.!! … I was talking to MYSELF umpire.]

  5. Daftburger says:

    It has all the component parts of a swastika!

    Then again it has all the component parts of one of those crap ‘Fuzzy Felt’ toys!

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    I like your analysis there burger; it is called Suprematism with Eight Red Rectangles, after all. There’s a dissertation to be written on the connections between fuzzy felt and fascism, perhaps.

  7. Daftburger says:

    If you want my anylasis and you’re going to get it even if you don’t!

    These last few pictures you’ve posted reflect your sadness over Lemongate!

    That’ll be £500 pound please! 😀

    Mel Gibson. http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/3/33/Malevich24.jpg/250px-Malevich24.jpg

  8. OS. says:

    POW! WHAM! KERRUMP! SLAM!

    OS.

Comments are closed.