White on white

I’ve been meaning to do this for some while, with the sole intention of annoying the ‘that’s not art, that’s shite!!!!’ Colonel Blimp tendency. My worry is that I think my blogees are rather more erucite & inclusive than for this to be a formality.

malevich

1918, Oil on canvas, 31 x 31″

Malevich described his aesthetic theory, known as Suprematism, as “the supremacy of pure feeling or perception in the pictorial arts.” He viewed the Russian Revolution as having paved the way for a new society in which materialism would eventually lead to spiritual freedom. This austere painting counts among the most radical paintings of its day, yet it is not impersonal; the trace of the artist’s hand is visible in the texture of the paint and the subtle variations of white. The imprecise outlines of the asymmetrical square generate a feeling of infinite space rather than definite borders.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to White on white

  1. raf says:

    Tiz, a farewell gesture that I find myself giving!
    I’ve had enough, I’m 39 I love you all but tonight is the end of me and from the Moancake.
    Finest regards to you and yours

    H xxxx

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    Translation: RAF is going back to his Brideshead days & is being posted back to a Topp Sekret Location in the home counties.

  3. Daftburger says:

    Is it wrong to find some art a bit too “The Emperor and his new clothesish?”

    Pulis Out!

    It seems news of RAF’s demise was somewhat premature!

  4. OS says:

    Are you only 39, H? I am surprised. 😉

    I reckon this picture is a coded message done in invisible ink. Sort of James Bondish: sort of Raff stuff. If you know what I mean. Like the message below…

    There, I’m good. 😉

    OS.

Comments are closed.