Sonia Delaunay

Apparently, the first woman to have her paintings hung in the Louvre during her lifetime. You can find textile and fabric designs by Mrs Delaunay and she worked on theatre set design too; I have the sense she was prepared to diversify in order to pay the bills.

sonia_delaunay2

Untitled, lithograph, 1972

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sonia Delaunay

  1. RAF says:

    I had a reproduction Delaunay hanging in our bedroom. I can’t remember what it was called but it looked like what can only be described as womens beach volleyball in the early 1900’s.
    Anyway I broke it decorating and it now sits in our garage, where at one point or other I shall take it down to the tip.

    H

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    This blog thanks you for your contribution, Raffey.

  3. RAF says:

    I was actually hoping that our distinguished host or one of the other many art critic illumni may shed some light onto the name of above said article.
    Sadly maybe I was expecting too much! 😦

    H

  4. RAF says:

    illuminati that should read, damn crappy keyboard

    H

  5. Rhodesy says:

    Your just as middle class as winger then 😀

    You need to get yesen signed stoke shirts signed Hampshire shirt and a signed freddy flintoff shirt to be cool like me 😉

  6. OS. says:

    Another one like me mam’s rugs.

  7. Stephen Foster says:

    This blog recognises your pre-eminent connoiseurship when it comes to rug art, Sudsy.

  8. chiffs says:

    Was it called ‘Paris’, RAF?

    Excuse me, just off to do some diversifying.

    PS. I’m with OS on this one. The Delaunay’s must’ve shared their hallucinogens.

  9. raf says:

    ‘Was it called ‘Paris’, RAF?’

    Not sure , I could probably google it if I could be arsed, maybe our host could enlighten us?

    H

Comments are closed.