Robert Delaunay

When I was a new bug at art school I used to sit in seminars looking at slide projections of all these artists and movements that I’d never heard of (Delaunay was in a sub-sect of cubism called orphism). Sometimes I’d try to copy the works. This painting below was one I had a go at. Picking an original with plenty of straight lines, & employing a grid make it seem as though the copying will be relatively easy; it’s not, it’s always a lot harder than you might think. But it’s not the drawing, it’s the colour matching where the skill lies; fakery is an art form in its own right, one I’d quite like to get involved in. You could take good money off people who must have too much of it, making it a victimless crime, and there’d be the satisfaction of knowing you have applied craftmanship to your skullduggery, that you are the sort of villain people would be able to look up to, if only you didn’t have to go about your business incognito.

Most Recent Publication

delaunay

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Robert Delaunay

  1. Patty says:

    I am not usually a fan of abstract art, but this work is really lovely. The colors are very brilliant and remind me of a sunny day in the country (as I live in Maine I’m always in the country, but I think you get my jest.) Actually it is a very well done painting of the Eiffel Tower, it is, isn’t it? I do like it a lot!! (God knows I couldn’t do it.)

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    I think it’s lovely, Patti. Perhaps you like it because it’s quite figurative, as well as having that abstract atmosphere. He was a great colourist; his wife Sonia is worth looking at too…

    This painting also does something odd with perspective/perception: to me it seems to reverse sometimes, so that the top is the bottom and then it becomes a little like that test picture if you know the one : where you see either the profiles of two people or a candlestick in the middle.

  3. Patty says:

    I majored in Psychiatry in college…..so I know exactly the test you’re thinking of. And now that you’ve mentioned it, I do see the reversal in this painting. It is quite exquisite! I need to branch out a little and look at abstract (and other art forms) with an open mind. Thank you, Stephen for enlightening me a bit. 🙂

  4. johnnyneptune says:

    speaking of les artistes francais, the house we rented in france was owned by a monsieur thierry faure.

    not quite in the delauney league, but a quick google of him when we got back show his paintings go for around E5000

    some of his stuff was really good.

  5. OS. says:

    Forgery is a Stoke thing. [Dole cheques and that sort of stuff.] Not a bad effort, winger. I can see the stokeyness in it. Love the colours.

    S.

  6. Rhodesy says:

    You’ve come a long way from working class! Writings one thing.. But art? Come on ? 😀

  7. Stephen Foster says:

    Stick with me Rhodesy, you won’t go far wrong, kid :–)

  8. Rhodesy says:

    It’s actually fairly impressive. I would suggest to use tracing paper though next time 😉

  9. Daftburger says:

    Not good for vertigo! 😦

  10. Nazmin says:

    i love his painting, it is so cool, i am interested in his colours… its so bright and so attractive….
    i am going to do this for one of my artist studie in school… i am going to try and paint it

Comments are closed.