Still blurred

The specs are not back yet. Georges Seurat was perhaps responsible for inventing, and certainly a principal practitioner of, Pointillism – painting using dots of colour. My favourite overheard gallery conversation was between a middle aged waspy American man and wife, she a keen art lover, him being dragged around.

Woman (peering at artwork): This is Seurat, George. Pointillism.
Man: Pointilism? What in hell is that, Maude?
Woman: Little dots, George. It’s all made up of little dots. It’s really quite fascinating.
Man (lifting varifocals as Maude moves on): I just don’t see it, Maude; I just don’t see it.

No wonder George was struggling: they were looking at a pencil sketch, which was by Seurat, but which was not made up of little dots. Still Maude had heard that dots was what Seurat did, so the drawing must have been made up of them even if, to the naked eye, it looked remarkably like lines of HB..

seurat.baignade

Une Baignade, Asnières, 1883-84

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Still blurred

  1. makemeadiva says:

    I’ve always liked looking at this painting, although I don’t really like it. I think it is the smoking chimneys that do it for me. They seem to have more movement than the bathers.

  2. Daftburger says:

    I once took a class of nine year olds working with primary colours and based it on pointalism and the work of Seurat and Cezanne.

    The pretext was to learn the primary colours and how through the use of primary colours we could make secondary and tertirary colours. Instead of using idividual paint brushes we used sponges to create the ‘point’ effect. They loved it! Try it with your own kids or try it yourself!

    Obviously the paintings they produced were a lot better than the one I produced. At the end of the practice they framed it for me with the legend ‘don’t forget the point of it all’. Sadly I did and I’m still trying to see the point of it all!

    Does anyone want to see it! 😀

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    ‘Does anyone want to see it!’

    Who in their right mind would say No to that!?

  4. makemeadiva says:

    Week 5 of school holidays = not in my right mind!

    I would still like to see it and I will borrow the activity too please.

  5. OS. says:

    Yes, Mr D. We all want to see it. 😉

    GGOS.

  6. RAF says:

    “The pretext was to learn the primary colours and how through the use of primary colours we could make secondary and tertirary colours. Instead of using idividual paint brushes we used sponges to create the ‘point’ effect. They loved it! Try it with your own kids or try it yourself!”

    Yes I remember doing something quite similar myself at primary school with shapes cut into half potatoes, although it was more Henri Matisse than Seurat.

    H

  7. OS says:

    I remember those, Raff. The problem was that when I’d eaten what I could of the raw potato, there was only enough left to create a painting using Pointilism. Perhaps Seurat was like me and his paintings were born of neccesity. I wasn’t very good at it but at least they made me burp. 😉

    GGOS.

Comments are closed.