The song that gets into your head

This was in a film the other night. So we surfed it and found who wrote it (Dylan) and listened to all the versions and this was the best by a good bit, beating off no competition at all from the composer, and seeing off Billy Joel, Garth Brooks, Bryan Ferry, Joan Jett and the Blackhearts and plenty more to be taken into account including a youtube montage tribute that someone had put together to illustrate the love story of Ross and Rachel in Friends. (Incidentally, there must be a book to be written on the many and various methods Dylan uses to murder his own works.)

This entry was posted in Unpublished Novel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The song that gets into your head

  1. OS. says:

    Boo’iful. Reely boo’iful. That should be in TRDB. 😉

    When the rain is blowing in your face
    And the whole world is on your case
    I could offer a warm embrace
    To make you feel my love

    When evening shadows and the stars appear
    And there is no one there to dry your tears
    I could hold you for a million years
    To make you feel my love

    I know you haven’t made your mind up yet
    But I would never do you wrong
    I’ve known it from the moment that we met
    No doubt in my mind where you belong

    I’d go hungry, I’d go black and blue
    I’d go crawling down the avenue
    Oh there’s nothing that I wouldn’t do
    To make you feel my love

    The storms are raging on the rolling sea
    And on the highway of regret
    The winds of change are blowing wild and free
    You ain’t seen nothing like me yet

    I could make you happy, make your dreams come true
    Nothing that I wouldn’t do
    Go to the ends of the earth for you
    To make you feel my love

    GGOS.

  2. Patty says:

    Stephen, my husband said you should go to YouTube and listen to “Jokerman.” He said it is one of the best he ever wrote. (I hear David playing it over and over while he’s taking his shower in the morning. Have a look if you enjoy any of Dylan’s work. Dave is have a hard time figuring out what Dylan is trying to say. (I’ve always had difficulty figuring him out, but still love his music.

    Btw, I really like the video of this song you posted from the movie. Very nice!

  3. OS says:

    Hi, Patty. (Thanks for the invite but I won’t join facebook. This lot are all on it and I see/hear enough of them as it is.)

    winger, I’ve downloaded this song and play it every day. Maybe twice if I’m feeling romantic. 😉

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    Thanks Patty. I’m a big Dylan fan but I don’t know Jokerman; still looking for a version of it that doesn’t hurt my ears – this rather excludes the live stuff on you tube :–)

    Though it changes frequently, I think my all time favourite Dylan track (it even features a great vocal) is ‘You’re a Big Girl Now.’ from Blood on the Tracks (the great divorce album…)

    ps: OS – do you ever feel otherwise?

Comments are closed.