It’s a small category

the plaintive love song with the metaphoric allusion to petrol stations and cars. And good live performances by Ricky Lee Jones are probably a smaller category than that. It will help if you know the original recorded version from the (ahem) eponymous first album, but this is still pretty mesmerising. It got the current shooting across my alternator anyways (Americanization deliberate in homage).

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to It’s a small category

  1. OS. says:

    She’s the lady in my mind when I sniff urine in my week old, unwashed underpants. Crazy…man. 🙂

    GGOS.

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    Powerful imagery there OS, but I’m not sure it’s fit for the public domain…

  3. OS. says:

    Better than hacking off at the Green Party and certainly fitter than one of RAFF’s outbursts. 😉

    I’ll be just above you in the next couple of days…I’m off to Mablethorpe to see my bro and his family. I’ll send my best wishes and positive thoughts down to you over The Wash. Look out for a pair of light blue soiled underpants. Stay cool man. 🙂

    XXX GGOS.

  4. OS. says:

    Swiss in in Cornwall. Jst ad txt. He’s off to a carnival at Delabole. Xpct sum txt s**t ths wk frm im. Seeya. 😉

  5. Patty says:

    I’ve always liked Ricky Lee Jones. Goes wayyyy back. Thanks for the decriptive little tidbit there, OS. 🙂 (I think I missed the “Americanization”, Stephen. Can you point it out to me please? I can be a bit dense, in case you haven’t already noticed. One singer I listened to a lot and saw in concert was Joan Jett and the Blackhawks. 😉 Got anything of her’s laying around the palace?

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    ‘anyways’ – we never add that last s.

    i love rocknroll so pit another dime in the juke box baby…

  7. RAF says:

    OUTBURTS?

    I’ll have you know Michael that they are not outbursts!
    They are heartfelt grammatical descriptions coupled with my tourettes.
    If you can’t be tolerant of us less fortunates, then the least you can do is not take the F*****G P**S you F***T**D

    H

    H

  8. markelt says:

    Girl at her Volcano is part of my life soundtrack. I was going out with a girl from Loggerheads whose best mate was dabbling with ‘Inchy’ Heath and who introduced me to it along with one or two other things.

    [sigh]

  9. Stephen Foster says:

    Did she dabble you Under the Boardwalk?

    (I have the 10″ vinyl album btw)

  10. markelt says:

    I had it on tape, but you can’t get it on CD or to download. A crime when people are buying records by Michael bloody Buble

  11. OS. says:

    RAFF, your tourettes is pure artistry. I don’t know anyone who can swear with such vigour and passion as you…sort of Anthony Hopkins plays Hardicanute. 😉

    XXX

Comments are closed.