Do not touch the live rail

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Do not touch the live rail

  1. OS says:

    Very listenable.

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    I’ll bring you into the modern world* pops.

    * fifteen years ago or something :–)

  3. AndyP says:

    A pleasant surprise. One of his finer solo moments. I always liked this one too. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=duhW5gIQ0NA

    What I don’t like is that it was 1996. I remember the performance, videoed it at the time, and he was at the height of his Brit Pop Modfather status. (Note the Ocean Colour Scene hangers on in the backing band). I was in my Ridge Terrace flat in Headingley enjoying a bachelor lifestyle. Can’t believe it was 13 years ago already. Where has it all gone?

  4. AndyP says:

    No THIS is the MODERN WORLD! 😉

  5. makemeadiva says:

    Ooh that takes me back. The number 73, living in Stokey before it was fashionable, working in Holloway at a mental health project, cycling round London, jumping lights and on pavements, up one way streets and round Regents Park in the dark after half a cider…

    I do have to award Mr Weller the “world’s worst hair” prize for the last three decades though! His consistency in that department is astounding.

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    Hmm. I rather like his barnet in the Wild Wood video.

    Recent times is Small Faces meets Worzel Gummidge though, too true.

    What are you looking for in a man’s hair?

  7. makemeadiva says:

    Less meticulous execution mainly. To be fair to the guy his hair in the Jam (bad mental image that!) was ok and as you say it’s ok here (only ok though).

    He has sported some highlighted shockers that make my toes curl. There is a phenomenon that I hope is mainly confined to this corner of Essex of men’s hair being highlighted and snipped and gelled to the point where it would probably be quicker to put on a fop’s wig of a morning or after the gym. No woman wants to share the looking glass with a man…

Comments are closed.