Fares Please!

Going up Hanley, duck? Get theesen on one of these.

This is what a bus is supposed to look like, not these ‘First’ blobs we have to put up with today. See here for a splendid collection of what bus tickets should look like while we’re about it, you can almost hear the click & whir of the conductor’s machine.

meh797

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Fares Please!

  1. AndyP says:

    And you take the piss out of me for my love of trains?!! 😉

    Nice bus though.

  2. AndyP says:

    I’ll see your bus and raise it with a train! 😉

    Found this of Stoke station with an unusual visitor on the through road – LMS Coronation Class 6233 “Duchess of Sutherland”. Anyone who was a young lad and “spotter” in the early 1960s will also tell you that one of the same Coronation Class was 46254 “City of Stoke-on-Trent”.

    Wallpaper - steam train in Stoke station

    Right I’ll let you start snoring now…

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    * Toots *

    All we need now is a Fat Controller…

  4. AndyP says:

    And another piece of nostalgia for the owd buggers! 😉 Stoke pre D-Road.

    Stoke aerial photo 6th July 1961

  5. AndyP says:

    Maybe OS will remember this 😉 Stoke roundhouse in the 1920s / 1930s…

    PS there’s some great photos of Stoke in the set I found the aerial view.

  6. calvininjax says:

    Coronation Class also known at the track side as “semis”, I believe, along with “jubs” and “brits”.

    Aaaah those idyllic summer holidays of the early Sixties spent in a caravan near Rhyl, with the Holyhead to Crewe line a mere 50 yards away.

    I seem to recall putting pennies on the track and having them rolled to wafer thin proportions courtesy of LMS.

    Have to go I Hear My Train A Comin’.

    http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&videoid=3631873

  7. AndyP says:

    Come on train!

  8. OS says:

    OMG! See wot you’ve gone and done now, winger…let Andy loose from Sodor! And now Calvin has jumped on the bandwagon. It’s no wonder they get on so well and down so much coffee in Jacksonville. Tx.

    Here, this will have them on Expresso. 😉

    BTW, here’s another bus at Longton bus station but it was going the other way. *Note the bag of coal that was waiting to be put on board and the old lady climbing up the step. I’ve often wondered if it was her bag of coal.

    GGOS.

  9. Stephen Foster says:

    I could just drink a pint of Bass.

  10. chiffs says:

    A forensic examiner writes:
    that’s a sack of spuds, and she’s not an old lady, surely a woman in her prime (look at that jaunty leap onto the deck). And where’s the driver? Gone for a fag.

  11. chiffs says:

    . . . And I remember when there used to be a sign up inside saying No Spitting. Another one said Please keep your feet off the panels. Never understood it.

  12. AndyP says:

    Wonderful film OS, plenty of Western Region stuff for me, and Barbados (a Jubilee Class) for Calvin! 😉 Plus some fine footage of the Midland Pullman. I like the juxtaposition of the poor sods grafting on the line to clear the snow so the Suit can have his breakfast in First Class!

    Calvin and I haven’t yet got on to steam engines during our coffee conversations. Maybe next time. That will probably add another two hours to proceedings! 😉

    Towards the end of steam Leeds Holbeck shed had two Jubilees in pristine condition often used on “specials”. Kolhapur was preserved but sadly Alberta was the last Jubilee to be withdrawn and went to the cutter’s torch 😦

    Some pics here of preserved Jubilee “Leander” taken by myself…
    http://www.andrewpointon.com/2008/08/11/full-steam-ahead

  13. Dave says:

    Wow back when buses moved in Stoke, it is now faster to walk up to Hanley from Smallthorne way! Still at least First Bus are fair in there service, they are equally bad in Norwich…
    Fantastic pictures though…

  14. Stephen Foster says:

    Hi Dave, welcome. Are you an exile in Norwich, stood in Castle Meadow, waiting for a Number 27?

  15. Geraldine says:

    OS, that is a wonderful piece of film! I remember the excitement of travelling on steam trains as a child and I also remember steam rollers which were used for road surfacing, very few people seem to know what I’m talking about when I mention them.

  16. Dave says:

    Cheers Steve, I’m not a native Stokie but I lived there for the best part of ten years, my wife is 100% Sneyd Green (sounds like a bit of an insult / illness…).
    We both left Stoke, via South London for seven years, to live in ‘A Fine City’. That was a year and a half ago and you wont catch me planning a move back to either city…
    I was really pleased when I caught a bit of you on the radio the other day, picked up that potteries dialect straight off! Loving the site too, will be poking my nose in a bit more regularly now…

  17. Stephen Foster says:

    Ahah, all good, as my son Jack likes to say, when things are, er, all good.

    We are on the eastside, where r u?

  18. Dave says:

    We moved to Thorpe Hamlet to start with, bit to pricey for house with a couple of rooms we weren’t using so we shifted up to Constitution Hill. Nice area, plenty of good pubs, what more could you want!

Comments are closed.