Delivery minus eight days

And She Laughed No More (Stoke City’s [First] Premiership Adventure) goes off to Short Books a week on Monday. With a timetable that has involved the delivery of three books in twelve months (though the Working Class Hero was already done a good while back, it still required some extensive late editing due to a title change that was forced on us), it’s all been too frantic. My mind is ablaze and I am more knackered than I was even during a period in the building trade when I didn’t have a day off for a month. At least I feel like an honest worker. Here is a bit:

‘They have one man who is fantastic, I think he shoots the ball better with his hand than with his foot’ : Chelsea (h)

The next Premiership visitors to Stoke-on-Trent are Chelsea. It is their most recent new coach, the jovial Brazilian Luiz ‘Big Phil’ Felipe Scolari, who is responsible for the quote above. Personally, I liked Avram Grant, the man who could never fill Jose Mourinho’s shoes. I never much cared for the atmosphere around the Special One, and I particularly disliked him in his late period, when, having discarded his original chimera of charm, he left the public with very little to admire. In place of the charm came the reality of a deep self-regard coupled with a surly arrogance. At least he still wore a decent overcoat.

I had a soft spot for Avram because he was destined to fail simply for not being Jose, and because looked like a an old-fashioned hood, the kind of man who had people who were paid to do his dirty work for him, guys who would leave a horse’s head in your bed. Where Avram was fifty percent Antwerp diamond dealer, fifty percent Godfather, Big Phil was a Gene Hackman look-a-like, the dogged cop who would hunt Avram down across five continents if, as is surely a certainty, they ever make, Chelski: the movie…

This entry was posted in And She Laughed No More, She Stood There Laughing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Delivery minus eight days

  1. OS. says:

    “I had a soft spot for Avram because he was destined to fail simply for not being Jose, and because looked like a an old-fashioned hood, the kind of man who had people who were paid to do his dirty work for him, guys who would leave a horse’s head in your bed.”

    You’re stereotyping winger. You, of all people, should know that you don’t have to look like an old fashioned hood to leave a horse’s head in your bed. 😉

    Seriously, very seriously, I hope you do what you’ve said you will do: have the summer off. There’s an old saying that says ‘hard work never killed anyone’. I reckon it was written by someone who had never done any hard work. BTW, have you ever been anything other than an honest worker? You do yourself a disservice, Boy.

    Am looking forward to this book. Really. I also reckon dear ChiffS needs a bit more luvvin’ and more tender care. She’s a lady you know, and she needs rewarding for her backstage role and the support she gives you. I’ve no doubt, even while she’s trying to get on with her own MS, she’s the rock your pc sits on. I hope you don’t treat her like you do poor Jackson. 😉

    If you get bored, you and Eli can get together and have some fun editing my MS. He’s got the latest version which you haven’t. It’s even gayer than the original draft. 🙂

    OS. xXx [ng]

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    Don’t worry about that mate. I’ll be doing absolutely nothing that I count as work* until at least October.

    The horse’s head line is a late addition ;–)

    Jack is treated like a King, as you well know.

    * That won’t excuse me from painting the back door.

  3. OS. says:

    “I had a soft spot for Avram because he was destined to fail simply for not being Jose, and because *looked like a an old-fashioned hood”

    * Did you put the ‘he’ in there?

    GGOS.

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    Yes, but what the hell are you doing lurking down here in last week?

  5. OS says:

    I live in the past, as you know. Being an old RE gayer, what else is there? 😉

Comments are closed.