Sketching

I received an email from a regular blog visitor saying, amongst other things, that she sometimes sketches and draws pictures of Ollie & Dylan of a night time. It made me think of the last time I sketched. It was here, in this harbour in Castletown in the Isle of Man. I went to school there for a year when I was thirteen/fourteen. I remember being very earnest about my sketching, and being annoyed by my (new) school friends (who I could ill afford to alienate). While they wanted to mess around and go off smoking fags behind the brewery, I was grappling with some very demanding issues of perspective. I stayed at my easel, grappling. I crashed my fags later, to atone for my overt swotiness at art.

castletown-isle-of-man-c

This entry was posted in Unpublished Novel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sketching

  1. chiffs says:

    I say, young Foster, that’s really quite a good sketch. I particulary admire the insouciant stance of the boy in the water. What B of pencil did you use?

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    I could only afford the normal HB which I wetted with my spittle for the various effects of shading which I required. I used a bit of white bread for a rubber.

  3. chiffs says:

    That would explain a few things . . .

  4. Geraldine says:

    I’ve been away for a week, so have only just seen this post. For a man who loves art as much as you do, why have you not sketched since you were thirteen/fourteen? I somehow had the impression that you were constantly flitting between easel and computer …

  5. Stephen Foster says:

    Well, I’ve been in the life drawing room a few times, but that is more struggling with form than sketching, and then my own ‘art’ tends to be in blocks & rectangles, which isn’t really sketching…

Comments are closed.