Announcing the inaugural pre-modern art week

I’m hoping to ease the more crotchety faction amongst the blog visitor into spring. Here’s some post-impressionistic fruit to be going on with.

cezannesl-apples

Still Life with Apples, c 1890, Paul Cezanne

This entry was posted in Unpublished Novel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Announcing the inaugural pre-modern art week

  1. calvininjax says:

    Does the lemon represent Kitson or am I being too subliminal?

  2. OS says:

    Hello Calvin. Some good articles on your blog today. Remind me not to go swimming in a creek where crocodiles are lurking. That one upset me. 😦

    winger, as you know by my refusal to join you with the orange juice I buy for you, I don’t like fruit. That painting does nowt for me. It reminds me of our cold, freezing scullery when I was a kid. Let’s have something warm and vibrant with lots of colours.

    M. le etc…

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    You miserable old fart. I put that up especially for you and all I get is complaints.

    I’ve had a secondary private complaint about all this too, saying the thing is too highbrow & could we get back to recipes for sugar butties.

    Incidentally, for the info of the complainer: Kitson is a ginger haired ‘striker’ whom Stoke paid a record £5.5 million for. The return for this was: scored no goals and has been sent back to Reading goal.

    Calvin, it’s lesss subliminal than that; the lemon is Pulis.

  4. AndyP says:

    The ginger one opens his account tonight for Reading. I’m as bitter as a lemon about Pulis.

    I actually like the painting Winger, I like a bit of impressionism. I’ve actually been to the Musée d’Orsay in Paris like the good MCG that I am. Plenty of fine pieces, and a Brucie Bonus – a former railway station! 😉

  5. OS says:

    I often wonder about the mental state of people who find pleasure in looking at 4 apples in a freezing cold scullery. Especially when there’s a Pulis Lemon there too. 😉

    OS.

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    A former railway station with very big clocks. They were the best bit, IMHO.

  7. AndyP says:

    OS – now you see a freezing cold scullery in Dresden, I see a table in a rustic gîte, paysans sitting out the back in the evening warmth, sipping red wine served from an earthenware jug, and tearing chunks from a baguette. 😉

    Winger – you’d like Leeds Town Hall then. Big clocks. Then again perhaps not, too Victorian for you, not enough glass and sharp edges! 😉

Comments are closed.