The man himself

By the miracle of modern technology I discovered how the camera function works on my phone and took this typical picture of our hero to remember him by. Then I sent it to Jack in order that he might email it to me. From the back he looks like my Uncle Roger. And as Old Stokie says on the comments below: ‘THE classic stance. Note the slightly dropped left shoulder: arm firmly resting on the shelf and fingers wrapped around his pint. I would say he is three quarters gone. It’s a wonderful state to be in.’

I’d rather hoped he’d turn out to be a muse. Here are the half-remembered and translated lines that he has put Gwilym in mind of. Gwilym says on the comments below, ‘I recently read a short poem by Gunther Grass about the classic lowered shoulder stance. It was in German but it went something like this -‘

Your right shoulder
droops, observed my tailor.
It’s with carrying my heavy school bag
I said, and blushed.

gambler

This entry was posted in Unpublished Novel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The man himself

  1. OS says:

    A fab pic. THE classic stance. Note the slightly dropped left shoulder: arm firmly resting on the shelf and fingers wrapped around his pint. I would say he is three quarters gone. It’s a wonderful state to be in. 🙂

    M le etc…

  2. I recently read a short poem by Gunther Grass about the classic lowered shoulder stance. It was in German but it went something like this,-

    Your right shoulder
    droops, observed my tailor.
    It’s with carrying my heavy school bag
    I said, and blushed.

Comments are closed.