Elsworth Kelly

ma34_kelly_red_green_blue1

Red Green Blue

Hard-edged, colourfield, ex-military, work inspired by the shadows of camouflage, the construction and deconstruction of ‘stuff.’ Also been known to use household paint on MDF. That’s my kind of art. I’ll be waxing on about Gary Hume any minute now.

This entry was posted in Unpublished Novel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Elsworth Kelly

  1. chiffs says:

    Is it The Riddler?

  2. AndyP says:

    Is it the logo of your new political party?! 😉

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    The Future’s Bright: Yes we Can!

  4. anjali says:

    is it a man with a square bum sitting next to a curvaceous lady on a bus seat

  5. markelt says:

    A close up of two of the Mr Men lying next to each other on the grass?

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    are you two fhilistines collaborating or is it simply a matter of: Anjali- meet Elt?

  7. markelt says:

    When a true genius appears in the world, you may know him by this sign, that the dunces are all in confederacy against him

  8. AndyP says:

    It’s clearly a view from above of a red brick university building with a bit of grass next to a lake. Maybe even UEA?! 😉

    “Also been known to use household paint on MDF. That’s my kind of art.”

    Surely that’s just DIY?! 😉 Maybe I should start charging folk to view my recently laid loft boards… Pointon’s latest ouvre “Particle board on joist” demonstrates the juxtaposition between the environmental concerns of the C21st home owner, and the Edwardian developer, while capturing the futility of a Premier League season – once joy at watching a beloved team has been usurped by the now favoured yet dull DIY duties…. etc

  9. Stephen Foster says:

    It’s simply a matter of context.

    Are you an artist, for a start?

  10. AndyP says:

    Has a nerve been touched? 😉

    “Are you an artist for a start?”
    Well that’s simply a matter of opinion. By some criteria I could be. I used to dabble in abstract expressionism as a youth, my cavass was A4 ringbinder folders, and my paint was household dregs rescued from the shed. Dripping, flicking and scratching with a stick was my modus operandi. John Squire was my inspiration, which led to an interest in Pollock.

    Maybe when I’ve finished the loft I should take leftover particleboard and go beserk with some of my many pots of emulsion. Then you can be the judge of my “artistic talents” and whether they merit similar acclaim to ol’ Elsworth! 😉

  11. I have enjoyed reading your blog, which is why I would like to share my Kreativ Blogger award with you. Details are on my blog.
    Thank you for making me smile
    x

Comments are closed.