My mate Dr. Graham Etherington

Graham is a Post-doctoral Bioinformatician. He is also a birdwatcher extraordinaire, having seen considerably more varieties than most. It is this instinct to search and record which, I think, explains how he has actually discovered the artist (to the right side of the bloke as you look at it below) by surfing the Moma archive rather than by cheating, as Old Stokie did. However, this is not the point, the point is that he is in the wrong job. He should be an art critic. This is his assessment, as lifted from the thread of comments below:

Actually, I didn’t even read OS’s post. But it did take me hours of trawling through the MoMA on-line catalogue to figure out it was a Guston. That actual ‘drawing’ wasn’t in the catalogue, but he is quite distinctive with lots of pink colours and plenty of shoes in his work. He’s obviously gay and a big fan of *Sex in the City.

*Yeah, I know he’s dead and died before SitC was first shown, but should he still be alive, I’m sure he’d have the full back catalogue.

philip_guston_1971_lg

Philip Guston, Untitled, 1971

This entry was posted in Unpublished Novel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My mate Dr. Graham Etherington

  1. chiffs says:

    A sinking ship, two sticks of Blackpool rock and a Clootie dumpling – can’t say I see any sex or city in that. On that score, yes, I think GE would make a great art critic.

  2. markelt says:

    I got an iron, a dildo, half a post box and a potato.

    Is this some sort of Rorschach test?

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    To be fair, that’s not the original image that Graham was working off, though it does demonstrate a rather literalist approach on your behalf, which does not surprise me given your vulgar and imaginatively limited response to Rothko.

  4. OS. says:

    This is best judged by almost closing your eyes when you look at it. When I do that, it looks like my left foot when I’m in the bath.

    M. le etc…

  5. OS. says:

    BTW, although Dr Graham is the world’s leading expert on the norovirus, and as a ‘twitcher’, he was the first person to discover the elusive Dreden Nightingale, he has great difficulty in finding his proper seat number on an aircraft. 😉

  6. OS. says:

    NB: that should have read ‘Dresden Nightingale’ and this seems to be a piss-taking excercise. We’ll get our own back saturday night, Graham. Stick with OS, we’ll sort the gayer bstards out. 😉

    M.

  7. Stephen Foster says:

    There’s no piss taking; the Doc’s succinct analysis is worth 30000 words of much ‘art theory.’ Trust me, I have read it.

  8. chiffs says:

    HaHa! OS, if that looks like your left foot, I’d get yourself some new glasses. Or some new toes.

    x

  9. OS. says:

    Chiffs! I’ll let you know I have very pretty feet for an old rat. 😉

    Three slurps. XXX

  10. I’m sorry to contradict y’all, but it’s no Rothko… it’s a late Morandi, after he was diagnosed with Meniere’s disease and some form of colorblindness. Oh, and he was also on the early stages of Alzheimer’s. Plus alcohol poisoning. Not half bad, considering his condition!

  11. Stephen Foster says:

    It says it’s a Philip Guston…

Comments are closed.