More ‘Art inspired by the fence panels of Bentilee’ for Old Stokie

img_2802

If Bentilee was really like that I would keep a pied-à-terre in the suburb. I know the girls round there are spectacular, from this ‘Miss Maxims’ a mate of mine once went out with.

Twenty points for anyone who can name the artist to the right of the bloke.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to More ‘Art inspired by the fence panels of Bentilee’ for Old Stokie

  1. johnny n says:

    our right or your right?

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    The one that isn’t a Sean Scully painting and don’t be deliberately obtuse.

  3. OS. says:

    What happened to the bloke who wrote ‘Strides’? Are those wellies you’re wearing?

    I don’t know the artist but the picture reminds me of the contents of one of my fabled skips. 😉

    Swiss is back in town. He’s cried off work. Jet lag he says. 😦

    M le etc…

  4. anjali says:

    chagall?

  5. Stephen Foster says:

    My professional view is that the bloke’s strides are too long there OS, though that is a lot better than too short, of course.

    It’s not Chagall, though it seems very familiar, I think it’s a tricky one.

  6. anjali says:

    picasso? leger? robert delaunay???

  7. OS. says:

    Philip Guston? It’s gotta be. I don’t know the painting but its too much like this not be be.

    Now stop messing about. I have better things to do than artistic research. What shall I do with the 20 points. 😉

    M. le etc…

  8. chiffs says:

    I smell a rat

  9. Graham says:

    “The one that isn’t a Sean Scully painting and don’t be deliberately obtuse.”

    So, which one isn’t a Sean Scully painting?

    I like the piece of art you are stood on. Or is that just ‘a floor’. I can’t tell which is which these days.

  10. Graham says:

    Oh, forgot to say that I thought the one to YOUR left (right as we look at it) is a Philip Guston. But I’m probably wrong.

  11. Stephen Foster says:

    Oh yes, the Stoke Contingent have come in with the Guston. That is quality.

    You don’t really get any points though Graham as you only copied Old Stokie. He has promised to spend his points on everybody down at Shaffers.

  12. markelt says:

    Good. He can buy us the Sancerre instead of the Sauvignon with those points.

  13. chiffs says:

    As I can’t be at Shafters, please pour my share of Sancerre into Steve and I’ll wring him out when he gets home (because without me, Winger would also be clueless) : )

  14. Graham says:

    Actually, I didn’t even read OS ‘s post. But it did take me hours of trawling through the MoMA on-line catalogue to figure out it was a Guston. That actual ‘drawing’ wasn’t in the catalogue, but he is quite distinctive with lots of pink colours and plenty of shoes in his work. He’s obviously gay and a big fan of *Sex in the City.

    *Yeah, I know he’s dead and died before SitC was first shown, but should he still be alive, I’m sure he’d have the full back catalogue.

Comments are closed.