Working-Class Promo

I’m off to get the train to be a guest on Robert Elms’ show on BBC Radio London. 12.40-13.00 if anyone’s about.

Elms was struggling with a tooth abysses, under those circumstances he was very cool, sharp, and switched on. I liked him. Listen again here if you can be arsed. Comes in after about 40 minutes.

Short review, which I particularly like for the last line, from the Times here.

Another ‘I didn’t like it much so I’ll just drop in a couple of random and out of context quotes’ round-up piece from the Sunday Times here. Or in other words the blogosphere at least allows authors to say to reviewers: Take more than five minutes, read it again, and this time read it properly, you tool. For instance, I listen to Radio 4 well before the end. At the actual end I don’t own a Saab, and I very specifically don’t own a Volvo either; instead I very specifically own a different vehicle.

51am-txtvdl_ss500_

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Working-Class Promo

  1. johnny n says:

    borders’ web-synopsis ends with the frankly marvellous

    “PREVIOUSLY ANNOUNCED IN APRIL 2008 BUYERS’ GUIDE ENTITLED ‘MIDDLE-CLASS GAYER’, & IN MAY 2008 GUIDE AS ‘CIABATTA YEARS'”

  2. makemeadiva says:

    The joys of BBC i-player for those of us who habitually miss Robert Elms after the delightful Vanessa Feltz!

    I don’t want to be libellous or sycophantic but the interview equation seemed to go along the lines of Elms=strident, Foster=generous.

    I will buy the book, very interested in the notion of reinvention and the free market…

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    Good work makemeadiva, that’s the spirit of the free market… Sx

  4. Patty Gross says:

    I belong to a website called “Goodreads” (offers reviews, discussions, etc.) and have been searching for the book. It seems that Amazon and Barnes and Nobel, as well as Abesbooks, will take 2 weeks to get it to me. Is there a shop in England where I could order it and receive it quicker? Any ideas you can give me are welcomed!

    Here’s my online book club link:
    http://www.goodreads.com/

  5. calvininjax says:

    Patty,

    Try Amazon.co.uk. Here is the link:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_ss_b?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=stephen+foster+from+working+class+hero&x=13&y=19

    The way the pound is against the dollar, it might even work out cheaper than buying it in the US.

    I have bought loads of stuff from Amazon.co.uk and never had any problems with it getting to the US.

  6. Patty Gross says:

    Okay! I’ll give it a try. Thanks so much, Calvin!

  7. OS. says:

    I listened to your radio interview. Clever Clogs. You didn’t swear once. It shudda been a phone in.

    ūüėČ

  8. markelt says:

    I listened to it as well. You could almost hear them unzipping each other’s flies, so well did they hit it off.

  9. Stephen Foster says:

    Don’t be jealous of my new media friends, it’s unbecomimg.

  10. marian martin says:

    Hi Stephen – I know your mum and have met Bumbles – now I have read your book I feel I know you as well. Read it in a day – couldn’t put it down. Lets have more like it.

  11. Stephen Foster says:

    Thanks Marian, that’s very kind; or: Irie! as Bumble would say :–)

Comments are closed.