Old Stokie’s favourite patchwork rugs

Am off to London tomorrow to do stuff, will make time to see this wildly well reviewed show.

fp

This entry was posted in Unpublished Novel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Old Stokie’s favourite patchwork rugs

  1. OS says:

    In this case, a picture doesn’t paint a thousand words. Having read the review, Scully’s paintings need to be seen in the flesh. I still think they look like my mam’s rugs though That one doesn’t. It looks like a typical fence on Bentilee. 😉

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    ‘Fence on Bentilee.’

    Very good, you ought to pursue art criticism, you have access to range of imagery that is simply beyond the experience of the average Guardianista hack.

    Dear blog reader, Bentilee is the roughest council estate in Stoke-on-Trent. A mate of mine once took a school football team to play a game up there and found a burnt out car on the pitch; the car was still hot. That’s Bentilee on its best behaviour.

  3. OS says:

    From Scully to Bentilee. I love this blog and it’s waywardness. I used to have some respect for the roughness of the characters on there. I now have very little. None for some. Any group of people who can vote in the BNP deserves no respect. I can understand protest voting but never, not in my wildest moments would I ever consider voting for that racist lot. They have a lot to answer for in my eyes.

    A short tale for you. (As you know, I can tell a good tale. 😉 ) This is true.

    About 15 years ago, some bugger stole my old Uno from outside the house. It had Ann’s wheelchair in the back. I knew it had be in one of three places: Bentilee, Blurton or The Meir. I borrowed Swiss’s car while he was at work and went scouring those districts for it. I found it at parked outside a house at Bentilee. So, I parked Swiss’s car a way away and pinched it back. It had a load of shopping in the back seat so we ate well for a short while. It’s the way I tell ’em. 🙂

    M le etc…

  4. It’s the wrong way up. The right side should be at the top….
    Now you see it, it’s actually football shirts hanging in the Stoke changing room. Stanley Matthews era I should say.

  5. Mark Eltringham says:

    Oi. My family lived in Blurton, not like you lot in neck end. Knock it off.

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    ‘ pinched it back ‘

    Don’t you mean : ‘ retrieved my property ‘

    There were 7 paintings in the show. I would have liked to of* seen Old Stokie’s face at the rip-offness of it.

  7. OS says:

    No, I meant pinched it back. ‘ retrieved my property ‘ is for MCG’s.

    Eli, some bugger has dumped a double mattress outside my house. Wanna bet it doesn’t have Blurton DNA on it? I’ve phoned the council. Let’s see how long it takes them to remove it. 😉

    winger, I would *of ripped them off the wall and used them to make a pigeon loft.

    B. Baggins.

  8. OS says:

    Chiffs: he’s done it for you. Isn’t your beloved a thoughtful man. 😉

    XXX

Comments are closed.