Anslem Kiefer

Keifer is a fascinating post-war German artist, part of a movement sometimes called the European ‘trans-avantgarde’ – utopianism is one of its characteristics. Kiefer works in all sorts of media, and at all scales. The first canvases of his that I saw were huge tactile frames in a show at the Hayward Gallery on the southbank. Like much of my early ‘art education’ I just walked into the place knowing nothing about the stuff I was about to see (his work was part of a group retrospective of German artists: there were plenty in there I had never heard of, I saw my first Gerhard Richter there [he is one of my heroes now] a photorealist painting of a girl reading a paper – I looked at it for a good while before reading the little sign beside it and learning, with some amazement, that it wasn’t a photograph). Kiefer’s canvases were like fields lifted up and hung out to dry. I liked them a lot. Something about him here. This is called, Jerusalem.

jerusalem

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anslem Kiefer

  1. George S says:

    Now Kiefer, IS great art. I went to see the Monumenta in Paris at the Grand Palais two years ago and it completely convinced, in fact overwhelemed me. Check the Monumenta – loads of images and even films on the web. It is best to be there with them of course.

Comments are closed.