Whenever I take too much drink I have a Raymond Chandler quote come through the door holding a gun

Agent’s party last night followed by dinner : white wine, champagne, red wine, cognac. I was trying to remember this Chandler quote but my hangover wouldn’t let me so I just looked it up:

Alcohol is like love. The first kiss is magic, the second is intimate, the third is routine. After that you take the girl’s clothes off.

Nice, eh. He was a wise-crack alright. I found this too:

From 30 feet away she looked like a lot of class. From 10 feet away she looked like something made up to be seen from 30 feet away.

We have just been watching Nigella, that’s what drew my eye to it (Trezza puts her on when she runs out of things to get sore about). There’s certainly a substantial article to be written about the size of her backside, which I note never actually makes it into shot, they use a fuzzy gizmo when it gets anywhere near coming into focus; there must be an editorial rider interdicting the full widescreen phenomenon.

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Whenever I take too much drink I have a Raymond Chandler quote come through the door holding a gun

  1. chiffs says:

    That’s no ‘fuzzy gizmo’, that’s just the blockage of available light. Nothing wrong with a big backside, quite the opposite. Everything wrong with Mrs Smug, though. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

  2. anjali says:

    what…I…don’t…get…is…why…she…has…to…narrate…every…recipe…so…slowly…zzz.

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    Pleas send me a festive Anjali recipe: it’s time for some seasonal blog tips.

  4. Johnny Neptune says:

    nigella’s tagine looked like warmed up sick.

    you aught to have watched hugh instead. he did stuff with a deer and waxed lyrical over it’s liver. i thought when i tasted venison liver last week it tasted like liver and that’s no recommendation.

Comments are closed.