Thank God I’m not a real teacher

End of term, I only do two days tutoring a week, but this is the spiritual condition of Trezza and I tonight (she is full-time/half time, knocking off next year, more-or-less, to finish her forthcoming novel – Hurrah).

ed046

Degas, The Absinthe Drinkers

Posed by Ellen Andrée and Marcellin Desboutin (1876)

(‘We are not fit to lick his boots,’ as we used to say, when we were art students.)

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thank God I’m not a real teacher

  1. chiffs says:

    Think that’s dejected, you should see me this morning. Munch, anyone?

  2. Mark Eltringham says:

    I hope you mean Edvard Munch and not something else entirely

  3. OS says:

    *’Speaking’ from my death-bed.*

    I do like chiffS hat though. winger looks a bit pissed off. You and he should get together. 🙂

  4. Blimey, I know this. I painted a copy of this painting about 20 years ago. Took it down the pub to show it and a CAMRA drinker promptly bought it. Eighty quid. True story.
    Mine wasn’t an exact copy. It only went down as far as the woman’s shoes.

  5. Stephen Foster says:

    Nice work Gwilym! If you’d only have gone all the way you might have got the full ton for it :–)

Comments are closed.