Marvin & Diana

Go on, after the mild savaging I’ve taken from brother Elt, it has to be worth it. It is the healing power of soul music after all. And Marvin looks great in every shot.

I read Divided Soul a while back, a biog of Gaye by David Ritz, who I later saw on one of those ‘100 Greatest of All Time’ shows being a talking head. He’s short, with many tattoos and multiple piercings, just your average writer. Gaye is always in debt, and a massive drug taker. It’s a patchy book but there are great bits, like this:’ I smoke enough blow at the best of times, but when I’m on the road, I treble it.’

And this:

Ritz: ‘How much have you spent on toot over the years?’

Gaye: ‘I don’t even want to think about it. To be truthful, I’ve been careful never to keep track. I don’t want to know. My attitude has always been, whenever good blow is around, buy it, regardless of price. It’s cost me hundreds of thousands of dollar. Maybe more. Enough to certify me as a fool. You’d have to call me a drug addict and a sex freak. Didn’t you write the same thing about Ray Charles? Wasn’t that his story? Well if it’s good enough for Uncle Ray, it’s good enough for me. (Gaye laughs)

Ritz: ‘Ray gave up hard drugs.’

Gaye: ‘I don’t want to hear about it.’

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Unpublished Novel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marvin & Diana

  1. Mark Eltringham says:

    God I hate that tinkly 1980s electric piano sound.

  2. AndyP says:

    This is Marvin at his best. To think it was never released when it was recorded. I’ve done a few spins to this one on the Northern Soul dance floors…
    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=61Co4WgiDUU

    This one is just beautiful, more heartfelt soulful sentiment…
    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=ddiix9r2Mmw

Comments are closed.