Monoprint

I left Ollie in the care of Clarissa Upchurch one day when he was about a year-old while I popped round the back of Mr Parks the butcher’s shop to be thrashed at ping-pong by George Szirtes.* The Wymondham** and District Ping-Pong League Clubhouse was in this Anderson shelter at the rear of Mr Parks’ shop. When we got back, Clarissa was sketching Ollie; when I arrived next week for my weekly humiliation she had these beautiful monoprints hanging from a string in her studio. The general protocol is to make the artist an offer and hope they say, ‘Yes, providing you grow up and add another nought.’ But I’m from Stoke-on-Trent so I just nicked two while her back was turned. Clarissa is so charming and lovely that when she came over to our house for dinner some while later and saw them framed up on the wall she pretended she had given them to me as a gift. If the house was on fire, they’d be the two items I’d save on way out.

* spent his whole young life at the ping-pong table. After treating me to my tenth beating in a row he casually mentioned that he was the champion of round his way, and that ping-pong was the national sport of Hungary.

** pronounced: Windham.

img_2517

Clarissa Upchurch, Monoprint, 2003

This entry was posted in Along Came Dylan, Walking Ollie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monoprint

  1. Hey that’s a great sketch – BTW I’m from Stoke on Trent too – but I never nicked a sketch of anything….

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    Maybe you’re not from the posh part like me…

  3. OS. says:

    I would have nicked it too. Yes, I’m from Stoke. Anthony James Barnet, you’re letting the side down. 😉

    Oi, winger, is there anything that George isn’t good at? He seems to be one of those aliens travelling through time who decided to stop off at Norfolk to teach us a thing or two. What’s he like at billiards? I bet he can’t cheat as good as you. 🙂

    M. le etc…

  4. OS. says:

    NB…ask him how you spell Krakow. 😉

  5. Nah!
    I’m from the neck-end – Werrington. They didn’t teach us how to do it right…. That’s why there’s a Borstal there….

Comments are closed.