Vote!

Since we’re all crazed with election fever:

This is my first effort at using this new wordpress poll feature. Let’s see how it goes & hope there are no hanging chads (whatever they are) at the end of the democratic process. The book comes out in Feb ’09. I think the title tells you what it is (I hope it does, anyway).

nb: They are both a bit unfinished: the Potteries skyline would definitely come off the paint-dripping jacket. Neither of them are my work, btw, so feel free to comment too [winkthing]. If you don’t want either of them, that means you’re a Liberal.


This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Vote!

  1. calvininjax says:

    I have performed my electoral duty. Thanks for giving me the chance to cast a vote. 😉

    I went for the beer design. I could just see me reaching for that off a shelf in a bookshop, simply because of the cover.

    The other one wouldn’t merit a second glance.

  2. Geraldine says:

    Definitely the beer glass!

    I don’t usually read a lot about football but I did very much enjoy your description of watching Arsenal’s wonderful footwork.

    btw, Stephen and OS, I answered your last question on the Leaf Watch bit. (Way, way back now).

  3. anjali says:

    mm. the beer glass is a strong single image but I like the other cover, it has an art school feel. and that photo is literally without price. so my vote goes to 2. what about an improved version of 2 with graffito elements – ref the cover of submarine?

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    what cover of submarine?

    nb: the rurnout so far in this poll is lowere than a Norwich City Council by electionette.

  5. I’m going to vote for the wonderful Stoke skyline. The beer glass pic is far too shizoid, in fact it’s completely dotty.

  6. AndyP says:

    I voted for the Stoke skyline simply because I can’t believe Foster has ever been near a pint of real ale 😉

  7. OS. says:

    I don’t particularly like either of them. It’s a sort of afterthought [and a crime] that ‘Sanderson’, boy, is added like a bookend.

    NB. I voted for the bottom one for the same reasons Andy did.

    M. le etc…

  8. AndyP says:

    So when do the polls close? When will the results be annouced? Or will it take a Supreme Court decision before you know? 😉

  9. AndyP says:

    Just in…
    Norwich Evening News calls result as Beer Glass
    Calvin Chronicle calls result as Beer Glass
    But in a shock move…
    Stoke Evening Sentinel calls result as Paint Dripping 😮

  10. Stephen Foster says:

    They are going to have the beer glass like they always were.

    I was hoping there would be a landslide for the paint-dripping writing to prove to them that it was much more popular with the public, but it seems I do not have my finger on that particular pulse…

  11. Stephen Foster says:

    nb: I have drunk real ale a few times Mr P: the only thing wrong with it is that it tastes like the piss of a newborn baby; that, and the company and smell of ‘beer connoseurs’ ;–)

    A bottle of Sancerre with a parade of passing gamines it taint.

  12. AndyP says:

    I’m afraid I’m not au fait with the taste of newborn baby piss so I will have to take your word on that one. Is it a speciality in the Norfolk wine bars?

    AndyP – Proud member of CAMRA!

  13. diane watson says:

    from a professional point of view it has to be the beer glass one i dont like the other one at all, also i seem to remember that you were once the proud owner of a shirt with lovely beer glasses on back in your working class hero days!!!!!

  14. Stephen Foster says:

    You’re having me on sis, surely: what shirt was that?

  15. diane watson says:

    it was back in the days when we still lived at high lane, it was white with little blue bear glasses on, you also had one with news print on, dont feel bad though they were all the rage in the 1970s….and i think it may have been these very shirts that sparked my intrest in fashion!!!

    ps my memory is better than yours me thinks!?

    xx

Comments are closed.