Climate change

10.30 am; August 12th; view from my office window; the rain is bouncing off the roofs.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Climate change

  1. Mark Eltringham says:

    Tch. The weather. We’ve just had rain absolutely battering down with thunder followed immediately by bright sunshine. I’m trying to fill a skip following move to new place and I’m to get it done before it fills with water.

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    get Lee to do it; it’s no job for delicate uncalloused, interlectewual hands like yours.

  3. OS. says:

    Oi, Eli Grumpy! Where’s the skip. I’d love to get rummaging in a MCG’ers skip. I bet there all sorts of good things in there. I could make a fortune on Ebay.

    Boy, get onto BT and get that telephone pole shifted! Your view of the serf’s cottages are spoilt by it. Is that poor old guy still hanging around after a bed for the night?

    RE.

  4. OS. says:

    Ps…Eli…did you eventually get the house with another house in the backyard?

  5. OS. says:

    Another ps…how did Macke manage to get his colours so bright? Could you reproduce the same colours today in this pc world of no-lead-in-paints? I need to know.

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    It’s ages since I bought oils OS, so I don’t know: however, I’d say by the way the edges of the colours bleed in that picture below that it’s a watercolour.

  7. OS. says:

    I’m pretty sure Macke’s painting below is a watercolour too. Based on your comments, can I take it that the dried colours used by watercolourists of old were not lead based? Treat me like an ignoramus cus I am one. The colours in the painting remind me of pottery painting, especially during the Art Deco period, which used colours that are difficult to reproduce today because they were lead based. Clarrice Cliff being the greatest exponent of the art. Her wares are treasured for those special colours as well as the superb designs.

    The reason I ask is because my latest MS incorporates painting, and because I know i’ll get some crass comments from you that I don’t know what I’m talking about when you edit it, I need to know what I am talking about. The inspirational painting by Macke gave me new ideas to incorporate into the plot. The main character in the thing becomes a watercolourist. It’s difficult writing stuff when you’re as fick as the proverbial plank. 😉

    M. le etc….

  8. Stephen Foster says:

    I don’t think so but I’ll check: in any event, white in watercolour is often just the paper left bare…

Comments are closed.