A Flock of Seagulls

some sort of terrible Eighties band, did Pretty in Pink or something. This is a flock of terns, they breed at Winterton-on-Sea, on the sand; one of my jobs this last few months has been keeping Dylan out of their breeding beds. It hasn’t been easy, the beds are fenced off with two kinds of twine, one apparently electrified. Dylan could hurdle them without trying. But then a man from Natural England was talking to me up there, saying that it would be better without the ropes anyway, that if humans and dogs were allowed nearby this would help keep off the real predators – kestrels and other birds of prey. Anyway, they seem to have bred successfully.

This entry was posted in Along Came Dylan, Are You With Me?, Walking Ollie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Flock of Seagulls

  1. Mark Eltringham says:

    It was The Psychedelic Furs wot did Pretty in Pink. I thought they were good for a Bowie tribute act.

    The film with Molly Ringwald was worse.

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    O: what did A Flock of Seagulls do then?

  3. chiffs says:

    “I Ran”, which was not as good as the song with the line: If I had a photograph of you, Something to remind me, Then I wouldn’t spend my life just wishing.” (Great crashing wall of sound follows)
    The title’s in there somewhere.
    And let’s hear it for the wonderful, melancholy Sister Europe by TPS (sister of mine, home again …)
    Now, who’s moved my hairspray? I’m sure I left it on my synthesiser.

  4. chiffs says:

    How did that smiley face get on there? Sabotage!

  5. Stephen Foster says:

    You did it by writing an ellipse into the end of a bracket…)

  6. Johnny Neptune says:

    tch. pretty in pink was great precisely because molly ringwald was in it.

  7. I’ve been reading about the terns in “Are you with me”. Definitely a case of following the principle “write about what you know” eh?! 😉

  8. Stephen Foster says:

    Incorporate what you see, would be another way of saying it, Andy.

    I pass through the Village every time I drive to the beach too.

  9. AndyP says:

    If you have incorporated it as well as I suspect you have by the words in your book, the entire area sounds like a beautiful place to be.

Comments are closed.