August Macke


Woman in a Green Jacket

I felt the need for some brightness. Macke is a great handler of colour. I did a project on him when I went to night school about fifteen years ago. A German, he produced this expressive, light work in the early part of the C20th He was particularly associated with the group Der Blaue Reiter which also included Wassily Kandinsky and Franz Marc. Macke died young, on a front at Champagne early in World War I.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August Macke

  1. OS. says:

    I could live with that, boy. The colours are wonderful and one doesn’t need to see the face of the ‘Woman in a Green Jacket’ to know that she is beautiful. She’s very sensual. I could look at that painting for a long time and still appreciate it’s beauty. Well done, boy. Makes a change from the groynes.

    M. le etc….

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    I’m not all sharks pickled in a tank OS. He is one of my favourites.

Comments are closed.