Juxtapositions II

A student I met during last year’s Royal Literary Fund work has sent me this photo of Great Yarmouth. Dereliction, decay, despair; it’s the perfect metaphor for days out at the English seaside. There’s a candy-floss and toffee-apple stall round the back, so your teeth can join in.

Here’s another in the same vein from AndyP’s contribution to the Ollie Stateside thread. I do like the way that this enhances the landscape. It seems to be riddled with bullet holes, though: it can’t have been left there just to make the highway look suitably ‘Wild West’ can it? I may need to consult my Baudrillard on ‘Simulacra and Simulation.’

This entry was posted in Along Came Dylan, Walking Ollie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Juxtapositions II

  1. Aaah I love the smell of old engine oil in the morning. The sun glints beautifully on the twisted scrap metal…

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    I’ll bring that wreck of yours up from the other comments to join it. Its that your own picture…?

  3. No I cannot lay claim to it. Good ol’ Google produced it when I searched for “Stephen Foster’s potential tour vehicle”, er I mean “Wrecked old US car”. It is a good shot though eh?

    But if you like arty rusty hulks I can lay claim to these pics though:
    http://www.andrewpointon.com/gallery2/main.php?g2_itemId=583

    http://www.andrewpointon.com/gallery2/main.php?g2_itemId=586

    The former transportation of the Cumberland Island (Georgia, USA) owners. A “McGuinness’ Job” if ever I saw one.

  4. But if you want a really impressive pile of scrap then check these out… (again not mine)

    Vic Berry’s scrapyard in Leicester 1987. Photos by Michael Kaye

  5. calvininjax says:

    “Dereliction, decay, despair; it’s the perfect metaphor for days out at the English seaside. There’s a candy-floss and toffee-apple stall round the back, so your teeth can join in.”

    That is good, so very good.

  6. OS. says:

    Swiss Tony could make that like new…but I suspect he’s been too heavily influenced by winger to direct his sights on a bullet ridden CV2 to bother with it.

    I know it’s an old hulk, but I bet that car could tell some tales. A bit like me really. 😉

    M. le etc…

Comments are closed.