The Blog goes ebay

James Shepherd, Stoke fan and snowboard shop owner, has redesigned the cover for The Final most smartly as below (not the finished item, I’m going to paint my own red and white Rothko version for him do his typographical wizzardry with, thereby hand crafting cover-homage and eliminating copyright issue in one). By the by James told me he has these great prints left over from his degree show. He’s offering to give them away as part of a clear out, but personally I think a small donation would be nice if anyone is interested. They are A2, about 23 x 17 ins and are offered unframed. I’ve taken the Subbuteo; the rest are yours; I’ll get you together by email links and charge the usual agent’s fee [emoticon wink here].

This entry was posted in The Final and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Blog goes ebay

  1. calvininjax says:

    I like the b&w shots by James, particularly Worker In The Sage, Back Alley, and the contact print titled The Sage. Ilford HP5,eh? Those were the days.

    PS The cover looks a lot better. Just goes to show what a change of font and colour can do. Perhaps you could break one of the black horizontal lines to symbolize Etherington’s torn hamstring.

    Finally, I look forward to the final cover of The Final. And that’s final! ;-)

    PPS As you have probably guessed, I am bored out of what passes for my mind and also it is too bloody hot!

  2. shep207 says:

    I was never fond of HP5, all my shots came out really grainy so I preferred using FP4. That camera took 120 film though and the shops up here only ever had HP5 in 120!

    I would let you have the worker in the Sage photo but I don’t even know where that print is. I have a print of each photo in the model series (if you click previous from the Subbuteo image). I also found one of the panoramic landscapes that wasn’t used in my college show. It was taken in the Peak District after it snowed and it is probably around 6ft long but there is no image online! If anyone was interested they could have that for the printing costs..

  3. Stephen Foster says:

    I’ve put together my Stoke City FA Cup Final Mark Rothko Mk I effort tonight; it might be asking too much this clash of cultures.

  4. Stephen Foster says:

    I like the sound of that panoramic, ASA film buffs.

  5. calvininjax says:

    HP5 was the film of choice when I was despatched to Ashton United or Stalybridge Celtic on a Saturday afternoon in December and had to try and capture the second half action. What passed for floodlights at these grounds had all the luminance of a 15-year-old’s birthday cake before the candles were blown out. Needless to say, the film was pushed to 1600 or 3200. Now that did produce grain in the prints but it is strange how newspaper presses turned it into something that was not too harsh on the eye.

    No worries about the print. I just liked the composition and mood. Do you have any links to recent work? I am assuming you left college a while back.

  6. shep207 says:

    Yeah, HP5 was the only decent option in poor light and to be honest, most people in my year got really good results with it. I’m not sure what it was about me but even in bright sun my photos developed super grainy.. I was also into long exposures using a tripod and the FP4 always gave me really nice results.

    I only used film sporadically and spent most of my 3 years at uni focusing on photoshop work. Unfortunately I had a dual hdd failure and lost my entire archive of photography a quarter way into my final year and dissertation..
    I learned the importance of backing up work but it means I only have a few prints of various projects and very few digital copies.

    I had a book made in the second year of some work I did with realistic model soldiers and photoshopping them into locations across the UK. I really liked that project but now I only have the one book left..
    (I graduated a couple of years ago btw)

    Stephen, the panoramic is back in Stoke but I am home for the Arsenal match. I will try to photograph and measure it and then send you the details. I completely forgot I had even taken the photograph..

    Looking forward to seeing the painting!

Comments are closed.