We Are Descended from Posh

I don’t know exactly who these people are, I think Mum might have said they were my great grandad and great grandmother. On the back are written these details in Biro:

1927 Willis Overland Wippet (Crossley Motors, Heaton Ch, Manchester). American. Made under licence at Crossley’s

Mr JE and Mrs EJ Waine & Emily Shenton, half-sister to JE Waine. Plymouth, 1927.

Additionally, brother Bumble has added his name in pencil with ‘Class 4A’ beside it. He must have gone to skool swanking about how fancy our family was. I especially like how the ladies have been advised that the way to look your best is by synchronised cocking of a leg on a running board and making a face as though you mean business while yet retaining a jaunty air. I’m expecting Just William and the Outlaws to come round the corner any second firing arrows.

This entry was posted in Nothing You Can Do, Duck and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to We Are Descended from Posh

  1. I'llmarmaliseyah. says:

    I will forever remain proud to the brim of my impoverished Irish heritage you posh twat.

  2. Stephen Foster says:

    Thanks for that : ) Who are you by the way?

  3. mum says:

    My maternal Grandfather & Grandmother :) I have a photo of same Grandfather with you in a pushchair ( will find it for next time you come over – also some more gems ) !!

  4. OS says:

    OMG! The original winger! Now I understand. Is Bumble hiding under the stairs? I would.

  5. OS says:

    And a personalised number plate! ;)

  6. OS says:

    Mum, were you the black sheep of the family? It’s ok, you can admit to me. My grandmother was. She married twice, lived over the brush for ten years, and had 14 children. And she kept a horse in the coalhouse. Winger won’t understand, but you might. Those lot ‘up there’ would have had a dickiefit if I’d come meandering over to them when I was a nipper, and said: Heyup, I’m your great grandson. The two ladies would have buggered of reet quickish, and the old man would have put his well-polished boot up my arse. That’s if he could catch me. ;)

    XXX

  7. Stephen Foster says:

    The original winger indeed. Dapper, ain’t e.

    Most right thinking people would have a dickiefit (nb. good expression) if you turned up with your pile of cushions and pillows and your eighteen tobacco tins.

  8. Stephen Foster says:

    ;)

    Was EH the other code for S-o-T?

  9. sis in law says:

    love the photos any of you three as kids would be fab!!
    I,’m looking after your brother as strict instructions from mum!!
    He is doing remarkable well, I’m in bits if truth be known wish we were closer feel very far away and useless! Sam X

  10. Nick King says:

    I’m quite chuffed about the England flag attached to the aerial, very forward thinking they must have started the trend

  11. mum says:

    Hey OS it,s a long long story . My father,s side are coming next !! I can trace my ancestry back 5 or 6 generations all North Staffs & South Cheshire ! To the question was I the black sheep – not at all :) xx

  12. Stephen Foster says:

    Looking after Bumble is full time work at any time, surely. Give him a kiss from me & good luck with that xx

  13. Stephen Foster says:

    Tee hee. They look smart then but actually: Sun-reading chavs.

  14. Daftburger says:

    I watched ‘Paper Moon’ yesterday!

  15. I'llmarmaliseyah. says:

    It’s me, Ralph. Your favourite impoverished Paddy twat.

  16. Stephen Foster says:

    ah, that explains it.

  17. shep207 says:

    Don’t suppose you have that on DVD and willing to sell do you??
    Been after it for a while now but can only ever find the NTSC R1 import!

  18. Daftburger says:

    Sorry Shep it was on the evil Sky Movies empire!

  19. shep207 says:

    Ah well, I will keep looking.. Cheers anyway!
    What did you make of it out of interest?
    I caught about 15 minutes on Film 4 once and thought it looked pretty good..

  20. shep207 says:

    Haha I guarantee there were no R2’s a couple of months ago!
    Ta.

  21. Daftburger says:

    You’ve never seen it? It’s brilliant and O’Neal junior got an Oscar for her brilliant performance!

  22. shep207 says:

    I saw a short section in the middle which was excellent but turned over as I hadn’t seen it from the beginning. I’ve wanted it ever since which is saying something because I usually find it difficult to connect with old black and white films.

  23. Stephen Foster says:

    It’s a long time since I saw it but as I remember it it’s a great film: maybe the only instance of a stunning father/daughter performance?

    Good prompt off the car, that’s for sure.

  24. mum says:

    Hey Daftburger & Shep get a region free DVD player ( they are quite cheap !)
    Last time I saw Paper Moon was in Hartlepool with Die & Megs ( on the pay per view cable network she is on – my choice :) ) lovely film .

  25. Rory says:

    I’m lost… what was American, the car?

  26. Stephen Foster says:

    I think it was the suggestion of a similar car to the one in Harvest Moon …

Comments are closed.