I can’t believe it, a Tour de France winner has taken performance enhancing drugs. Again.

Cycling is the dirtiest sport going, isn’t it, it makes WWF look like Sunday school. I don’t know how sponsors and broadcasters can still be getting involved in it. And that’s without even considering the sheer tedium of watching ‘blokes pedaling’ for one-hundred and twenty miles.

The only clean Tour de France, ft OS’s favourite band:

This entry was posted in And She Laughed No More and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to I can’t believe it, a Tour de France winner has taken performance enhancing drugs. Again.

  1. makemeadiva says:

    I have something to say about this, but the You Tube is blocked where I am.

    I am guessing Sigur Ros. Laters.

  2. Chiffs says:

    No no, it was something he ate ; )

  3. Daftburger says:

    Where is OS. He’s had two opportunities to reply lately, one from his beloved Chiffs, and has taken neither! :-( Has somebody checked for milk bottles on his doorstep? Shall I start a RIP thread on the Oatie?

  4. markelt says:

    I spoke to him earlier. He had friends round and was trying to get rid of them. Then he was asleep. Then he’s fussing about his grandson’s birthday.

  5. makemeadiva says:

    Well I’m glad about that.

    I’ve read up on the clenbuterol thing: I bet his suspension will be lifted.

    Now I’m off to order some on tinternet. Muscle-building, fat-burning? Yes please.

  6. Stephen Foster says:

    It’s always something they ate, or a matter to do with an asthma-related complaint, is it not? (odd, how so many cyclists suffer from asthma, you’d think they’d all stick to librianship, with their feeble chest cavities). It’s never, as it were, a consequence of MAINLINING BLOOD BOOSTING STEROIDS. Funny, that.

  7. makemeadiva says:

    I don’t think a quick blast on an inhaler would just anyone through the mountain stages.

    Cycling is brutal beyond belief.

  8. makemeadiva says:

    *get

  9. Stephen Foster says:

    It makes your backside ache, I’ll concede that; perhaps they should all claim they only take the steroids to help with the saddle soreness.

    Or, more seriously, say, ‘Look you just can’t do this sport any other way’ and accept that the drugs are part of it. They’re a pretty thick lot too though, no, – Contador, just like Landis, and in an extraordinary coincidence, tests positive on the day of the amazing performance.

  10. markelt says:

    As is always the case with sport, isn’t it the lack of will of the authorities to address the issue that is the reason it goes on. Fail a drugs test? – banned for life shurely.

    But oh no, that would mean confronting the issue. Which is why, aside from the ongoing cycling farce, the BOA decides that the poster girl for the London Olympics shoule be Christine Ohuorugu (sp?), Ferrari gets away with breaking the rules, people caught out diving in football receive no punishment, Pakistan get to keep playing tests and so on. The various sports administrators need to grow some.

  11. Stephen Foster says:

    I just hope they never dope test Rory for using spinach.

  12. makemeadiva says:

    I would like to believe that Contador has not done anything untoward, but maybe he has. Road cycling is an extreme sport and if you weren’t mad before you started you certainly would be after a while.

    I am typing this under the influence of anti-histamine. I might get onto my inhaler a little later. It’s not just drugs in sport, it’s drugs in life and in food and so on. The lines are grey. Take it, but don’t get caught and if it’s legalised don’t worry if it kills you as long as you are paying your taxes. *Shrugs*

    Which is worse: Contador’s trace, Christine and Rio’s missed tests, Hatton or Fallon’s white lines? A blanket ban would mean no-one has to make that judgement, but it’s not quite in Solomon’s territory yet and I think governing bodies have the right to examine these cases. If we left it to trial by media Caster Semenya would have been thrown out of athletics.

    As long as we rely on humans to be our sportspeople drugs are going to be in sport.

    And cycling does not give you a sore butt unless you are a wuss.

  13. Stephen Foster says:

    I’ll leave grey-man to continue this debate, it’s exactly the sort of dispute he loves.

    All I’ll say is that those old pointy saddles weren’t all that comfy if you were blessed with a pert little butt in which case the long comfortable bench-seat of a Chopper was more like it.

  14. OS says:

    >pert little butt

    You bin reading TRDB again, winger? I shud never have sent you that to edit. I reckon you’re getting to like young Josh. Don’t show it to Ben. :)

    I’m still trying to figger out what kraftwork has got to do with me!

    Chiffs… Haha. Say cheese! xxxxxx

    GGOS.

  15. OS says:

    Get the soapbox out! :)

  16. OS says:

    See you outside D’s, Eli. I bought Thomas a skateboard, and his mum and dad got him a remote controlled car. It was last seen by junction 29 on the M6. :(

    Oh, and he had £130! I used to get an apple… if I was lucky :(

    OPS.

  17. OS says:

    That happened to my dada, daftbugger. He was a regular in the Station Hotel in The Meir. He walked in one night after he hadn’t been in for a while, and they’d got a collection for him. They gave it to him. My mam went mad because he spent it all on ale. I loved my dada. Full of tricks he was. :)

    OMOS.

  18. OS says:

    Sharp as nails, my winger is. ;)

    M. le etc…

  19. Stephen Foster says:

    I never said it was my butt.

  20. markelt says:

    makemeadiva

    It goes on because the authorities haven’t got the balls to take it on. Athletes might well continue to do it, but if they knew they’d be banned for life for certain offences, they’d have nothing to moan about. INstead I had the remarkable experience of hearing Christine O (let’s call her that) pontificating on the radio recently about how onerous the drugs testing regime was for athletes.
    Excuse me? The only reason you haven’t been drummed out of your sport is the weakness of its administrators.
    Let them take their drugs. Then ban them for good when they’re caught.

Comments are closed.