It’s a mug’s game

Went to Cheltenham and back today with Philip of Along Came Dylan fame. We walked away sadder, skinter, and wiser men.

837114022

Punchestowns. Nearly, but not quite.

This entry was posted in Along Came Dylan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It’s a mug’s game

  1. AndyP says:

    Hmmm, looks like you do have something in common with Ianrb after all. He likes a flutter, and he can’t pick winners either! ;-) As I found to my cost one day at Chester…

  2. Geraldine says:

    You’ll have to try your luck at the real Punchestown, although you may well leave there even sadder, skinter and no wiser!

  3. Patty Gross says:

    I feel your pain. I lived in Las Vegas for eight years while working for the Department of Defense at Nellis AFB. Time off was spent (far too much) around the poker table at the Mirage.

    I am excited about a new TV reality show starting this Tuesday evening. It’s called “Jockeys.” Looks interesting to me…..all about the lives of the little ones who ride horses for a living.

  4. Patty Gross says:

    Sorry, meant to send you the link, in case you’d like to have a look.

    http://animal.discovery.com/tv/jockeys/

  5. Stephen Foster says:

    ‘I feel your pain.’

    Patty, you need these days in order to give those other numerous occasions when you batter the bookies and leave them are sobbing on the floor some context :–)

  6. OS says:

    Aaaah. Lovely place is Cheltenham. Beautiful racecourse at the bottom the the hills. Up the left hand side of those hills is the road that leads through the superb countryside to the south coast and the county of Dorsetshire. I used to love that run early in the morning in the olden days.

    Back to winger and Philip. Hope you had a good day, boy, apart from losing your shirt. I’m surprised that guy, Philip, dnt txt me 2 sy u wer thr. I’ll txt him now. Let’s see what develops. ;)

    M. le etc…

  7. OS says:

    OK. Done.

    “OI! U guys lost yr shrts ystday. I tht u wus pckng in gmblg.”

    This should be fun. :)

  8. Patty Gross says:

    Winger, I do know a bit about gambling/gamblers. One fact cast in stone, the “house” never loses. ;)

  9. Jessica Russell says:

    You’ll bouce back boys… That Punchestowns is too big for his own good – get him over the bigger obstacles.

    Brave Inca for the Champion Hurdle at Leopardstown later – fingers crossed :-)

  10. Jessica Russell says:

    bouce – sorry – obviously I mean bouNce. Too much single malt last night. Which reminds me, Happy 250th Birthday Robert Burns.

  11. mum says:

    Sorry to hear you lost your shirt hijo but no doubt it was a classy one ! Do I still await chart tonight for Tinchy ??? Are you going to White Hart Lane on Tuesday ? xxx

  12. Stephen Foster says:

    Prob too late but Tinchy charted at 3. We are well proud of them all…

    Have seriously messed up the diary and am doing a literary Reading (launch new book: copy on it’s way) at UEA on Tuesday night. Am so hacked off: Spurs = massive six-pointer plus glamour maych too, but it was arranged months ago, dinner to follow & et : I think I’d be sussed if I cried of ill.

    Am taking Jack to NYC for a week from Monday 8th: Swiss Tony found out I hadn’t bought him a Christmas present for the last 4 years and hassled and hassled me until I did something of the relevant order to put it right…

    Good call Jessica, naturally I stayed well clear, thus helping his chances. What’s your festival Nap (Master Minded aside)?

  13. Some years ago a bunch of blokes from the office went to the Dubai Classic or whatever it’s called. The world’s richest horserace anyway. Booked the package, flight, hotels, etc. Came back a few days later all depressed and grumbling. “Well how was it? Didn’t back any winners?”
    “No. Racing cancelled. Course waterlogged!”
    So, the moral is, Stephen. It could have been worse.
    By the way, Fat Sam has upped the bid for the boy Janko. Now up to €6 million. Sam must rate him. I do.

  14. Jessica Russell says:

    Aah the Festival. I have mixed feelings about this one. Horses like Harchibald and the poor Detroit City have made me cautious about forming too strong an opinion in advance because when what you expect and desire doesn’t happen it’s a desperate feeling. Especially when it’s been a little dream you’ve been polishing all winter. So, as things stand, I have Eradicate @ 40/1 for the Supreme Novices on the advice of a better judge. (Now available at 16s I think). With good ground I would also be tempted by the Star over the Tank but I’ll keep my powder dry on that one for now!

  15. Stephen Foster says:

    ‘Especially when it’s been a little dream you’ve been polishing all winter.’

    Very nice.

    I’d forgotten about Detroit City, that was terrible. We had backed him and were there for his run on the day War of Attrition won the Gold Cup. I had money on a good selection of horses for that race, none of whom featured, and amongst which was a late e/w lump on Ollie Magern, who of course came nowhere, but I could not leave him alone as the ‘Course Correspondent’ had napped him in the Telegraph. I could do that job, no trouble.

  16. Jessica Russell says:

    Well I will return the compliment and share that Rudi’s near daily squirrel fest is conducted with me smiling at their “vertical cheating habits”. :-)

Comments are closed.