Festive recipe tip # 1

I was told yesterday that the vouge-ish thing to do is to lightly par-boil sprouts, then connect one with a skewer to a slice of black pudding, batter the coupling, and deep fry. I imagine you could serve with HP Sauce, or maybe Dijon mustard. I’ll be experimenting and reporting back, I’m thinking about doing them for Amuse bouché on New Year’s Eve.

brussels-sprouts

This entry was posted in From Working-Class Hero to Absolute Disgrace (A Memoir, Strides and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Festive recipe tip # 1

  1. Mark Eltringham says:

    There’s no accent on bouche, you arriviste.

  2. That is a Hugh Fearnly-Whittingstall recipe and it looked yummy. Shame I don’t like black pudding! Oh and it was some sort of mandarin batter as well.

  3. OS says:

    “There’s no accent on bouche, you arriviste.”

    *grin*

    Ps…those sprouts look a bit manky. ;)

    M le etc…

  4. Julie Hill says:

    They would not amuse my bouche I’m afraid.

    I would skewer a variety of Quality Street and drizzle lightly with warmed Nutella.

    Tres bon, n’est-ce pas?

  5. Stephen Foster says:

    Tres bon-bon. :–)

  6. Mark Eltringham says:

    I’ve just fed me and my sons on fish finger butties. Proper English grub.

  7. Sprouts are devil fodder…..( devils spawn in fact)not even a hungry Nellie would entertain the thought of them…no matter which double barrelled chef presented them…….. Sprouts look manky for a reason…..

    http://retiredgreyhoundwalkaround.blogspot.com/

  8. Lisa says:

    Hmm having read this and your report on goose fat which I had lovingly purchased for my familys roast potatoes on Christmas Day thanks to you Mr Foster I am rethinking the whole menu

    Lol.

Comments are closed.